Biology Graduate Students

The following graduate students are enrolled full-time during the 2015–2016 academic year.
     GTA = Graduate Teaching Assistant (assist with teaching undergraduate biology labs)
     GRA = Graduate Research Assistant (Fleharty, Choate, and Balthazor Fellowships or external funds)
     GCA = Graduate Curatorial Assistant (Sternberg Museum of Natural History)
     GWA = Graduate Wetlands Assistant (Kansas Wetlands Education Center at Cheyenne Bottoms)

 

elizabeth bainbridge Elizabeth Bainbridge   GWA
Bachelor's degree: University of Dubuque, IA
Hometown: Teeds Grove, Iowa
Thesis topic: Gender differences in space-use patterns and utilization of Southern Flying Squirrel (Glaucomys volans) throughout northeastern Iowa.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: egbainbridge@mail.fhsu.edu
rachel binder Rachel Binder   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, KS
Thesis topic: Using isolation techniques to extract DNA and polymerase chain reaction to detect the absence or presence of prions within amphibians.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: rmbrungardt@mail.fhsu.edu
tessa brewer Tessa Brewer   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Bethune, Colorado
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: tjbrewer@mail.fhsu.edu
kasandra brown Kasandra Brown   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic: Occupancy modelling snakes at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: kabrown5@mail.fhsu.edu
kaden buer Kaden Buer   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Concordia, Kansas
Thesis topic: Using environmental DNA analysis to detect the presence and absence of freshwater mussels.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: krbuer@mail.fhsu.edu
keri caudle Keri Caudle   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Loving, TX
Thesis topic: Examining the relationship between the selectivity of a parasitic plant, dodder (Cuscuta pentagona), based on physiological and biochemical properties of its host plants.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: klcaudle@mail.fhsu.edu
ally hullinger Allison Hullinger   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Pittsburg State University, KS
Hometown: Conway Springs, KS
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: arhullinger@mail.fhsu.edu
andrew karlin Andrew Karlin   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Victoria, Kansas
Thesis topic: Effects of low-head dams and stream discharge on freshwater mussel recruitment and growth in the Neosho River, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: atkarlin@mail.fhsu.edu
brendon mccampbell Brendon McCampbell   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic: Taxonomic composition, photosynthetic traits, and nutrient relations of biological soil crusts in prairie ecosystems of the Great Plains.
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: bcmccampbell@mail.fhsu.edu
josh mead Josh Mead   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Hometown: Kearney, NE
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jjmead@mail.fhsu.edu
mitch meyer 3 Mitch Meyer   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Central Missouri
Hometown: Belton, Missouri
Thesis topic: Maternity roost site characteristics of the Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis) in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: mlmeyer5@mail.fhsu.edu
kaitlin moore Kaitlin Moore   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Emporia State University, KS
Hometown: Concordia, Kansas
Thesis topic: Isolation of soil Bacillus spp. with inhibitory activities against Staphylococcus aureus.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: kkmoore2@mail.fhsu.edu
anuja paudyal Anuja Paudyal   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Purbanchal University, SANN International College, Nepal
Hometown: Kathmandu, Nepal
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: a_paudyal@mail.fhsu.edu
sam pounds Samantha Pounds   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Dickinson State University, ND
Hometown: Bakersfield, California
Thesis topic: Comparison of small mammal diversity among three habitats in western North Dakota.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: srpounds@mail.fhsu.edu
taylor rasmussen Taylor Rasmussen   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Morningside College, IA
Hometown: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Thesis topic: Status of Franklin's Ground Squirrel (Poliocitellus franklinii) in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: twrasmussen@mail.fhsu.edu
sean rogers Sean Rogers   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Florida Southern College, Lakeland
Hometown: Tamp, FL
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: scrogers3@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth schumann Elizabeth Schumann   GRA – Choate Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Northeastern State University, OK
Hometown: Newalla, OK
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: emschumann@mail.fhsu.edu
jeff seim Jeff Seim   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Chapman, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Herpetofaunal community interactions and dynamics at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jtseim@mail.fhsu.edu
samuel smith Samuel Smith   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Larned, Kansas
Thesis topic: Isolation and characterization of bacteriophages that infect Enterobacter aerogenes.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: sjsmith4@mail.fhsu.edu
ariel snyder Ariel Snyder   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Dodge City, Kansas
Thesis topic: A survey of frogs affected by Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis in Kansas and variables that affect species susceptibility.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: a_snyder2@mail.fhsu.edu
angel sprague Angelica Sprague   GRA
Bachelor's degree: California State University, Sacramento
Hometown: Benicia, California
Thesis topic: Identification and characterization of Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis) hibernacula in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: avsprague@mail.fhsu.edu
tej man tamang Tej Man Tamang   GRA – Balthazor Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Purbanchal University, Nepal
Hometown: Ramechhap, Nepal
Thesis topic: Determination of evolutionary history of Big Bluestem ecotypes through chloroplast DNA analysis.
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: tmtamang@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth tharman Elizabeth Tharman   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Benedictine College, KS
Hometown: Atchison, Kansas
Thesis topic: The effects of latitude and productivity on behavior of Aves breeding in North America.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail eetharman@mail.fhsu.edu
holly wilson Holly Wilson   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Lubbock Christian University, TX
Hometown: Munday, Texas
Thesis topic: Correlation between temporal partitioning and diet of six bat species in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: hgwilson@mail.fhsu.edu
Back to top