Biology Graduate Students

The following graduate students are enrolled full-time during the 2016–2017 academic year.
     GTA = Graduate Teaching Assistant (assist with teaching undergraduate biology labs)
     GRA = Graduate Research Assistant (Fleharty, Choate, and Balthazor Fellowships or external funds)
     GCA = Graduate Curatorial Assistant (Sternberg Museum of Natural History)
     GWA = Graduate Wetlands Assistant (Kansas Wetlands Education Center at Cheyenne Bottoms)

 

  Rashmi Acharya   GTA
Bachelor's degree
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: r_acharya@mail.fhsu.edu
oaklee abernathy Oaklee Abernathy   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: olabernathy@mail.fhsu.edu
tessa brewer Tessa Brewer   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Bethune, Colorado
Thesis topic: Anatomical description of new Troodon formosus hind limbs from the Fox Hills Formation of South Dakota.
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: tjbrewer@mail.fhsu.edu
kaden buer Kaden Buer   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Concordia, Kansas
Thesis topic: Using environmental DNA analysis to detect the presence and absence of freshwater mussels.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: krbuer@mail.fhsu.edu
keri l caudle Keri Caudle   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Loving, Texas
Thesis topic: Phylogenetic distribution of an endogenous strain of Dahlia mosaic virus in members of Asteraceae.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: klcaudle@mail.fhsu.edu
million ebebhahon Million Ebebhahon
Bachelor's degree: University of Benin, Nigeria
Hometown: Edo State, Nigeria
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: maebebhahon@mail.fhsu.edu
ernesto flores Ernesto Flores   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Ness City, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: e_flores@mail.fhsu.edu
chelsea hanson Chelsea Hanson   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: cahanson2@mail.fhsu.edu
ally hullinger Allison Hullinger   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Pittsburg State University, KS
Hometown: Conway Springs, Kansas
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: arhullinger@mail.fhsu.edu
andrew karlin Andrew Karlin   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Victoria, Kansas
Thesis topic: Effects of low-head dams and stream discharge on freshwater mussel recruitment and growth in the Neosho River, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: atkarlin@mail.fhsu.edu
kolin klozenbucher Kolin Klozenbucher   GTA
Bachelor's degree
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: kbklozenbucher@mail.fhsu.edu
brendon mccampbell Brendon McCampbell
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic: Taxonomic composition, photosynthetic traits, and nutrient relations of biological soil crusts in prairie ecosystems of the Great Plains.
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: bcmccampbell@mail.fhsu.edu
josh mead Josh Mead   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Hometown: Kearney, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Spatial ecology of the Western Massasauga (Sistrurus tergeminus) in a large interior wetland.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jjmead@mail.fhsu.edu
mitch meyer 3 Mitch Meyer   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Central Missouri
Hometown: Belton, Missouri
Thesis topic: Maternity roost site characteristics of the Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis) in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: mlmeyer5@mail.fhsu.edu
  Ifeoma Oramesi   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Anambra State University, Nigeria
Hometown: Anambra, Nigeria
Thesis topic: Oil extraction from mesocarp and endocarp of avacado by using different techniques for biodiesel production.
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: isoraemesi@mail.fhsu.edu
jamie oriez Jamie Oriez   GTA
Bachelor's degree
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: jaoriez@mail.fhsu.edu
anuja paudyal Anuja Paudyal   GRA – Balthazor Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Purbanchal University, SANN International College, Nepal
Hometown: Kathmandu, Nepal
Thesis topic: Sequence variations of the pig prion protein gene (PNRP).
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: a_paudyal@mail.fhsu.edu
justin roemer Justin Roemer   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Wichita, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Greer
E-mail: jproemer@mail.fhsu.edu
sean rogers Sean Rogers   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Florida Southern College, Lakeland
Hometown: Tampa, Florida
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: scrogers3@mail.fhsu.edu
kyle schumacher Kyle Schumacher   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Hometown: Wausa, Nebraska
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Greer
E-mail: kwschumacher@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth schumann Elizabeth Schumann   GRA – Choate Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Northeastern State University, OK
Hometown: Newalla, Oklahoma
Thesis topic: Ectoparasite presence and absence in Kansas bat species, with emphasis on the Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis).
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: emschumann@mail.fhsu.edu
ariel snyder Ariel Snyder   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Dodge City, Kansas
Thesis topic: Survey of frogs affected by Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis in Kansas and variables that affect species susceptibility.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: a_snyder2@mail.fhsu.edu
angel sprague Angelica Sprague   GRA
Bachelor's degree: California State University, Sacramento
Hometown: Benicia, California
Thesis topic: Identification and characterization of Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis) hibernacula in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: avsprague@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth tanner Elizabeth Tanner   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Wisconsin–Platteville
Hometown: Gays Mills, Wisconsin
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: eetanner@mail.fhsu.edu
holly wilson Holly Wilson   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Lubbock Christian University, TX
Hometown: Munday, Texas
Thesis topic: Relationship between diet and temporal partitioning of five bat species in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: hgwilson@mail.fhsu.edu
  Dylan Wise   GTA
Bachelor's degree
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: dswise@mail.fhsu.edu
  Drew Zimmerman   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Ms. Carvalho
E-mail: dmzimmerman4@mail.fhsu.edu
Back to top