Biology Graduate Students

The following graduate students are enrolled full-time during the 2014–2015 academic year.
     GTA = Graduate Teaching Assistant (assist with teaching undergraduate biology labs)
     GRA = Graduate Research Assistant (Fleharty Fellowship, Choate Fellowship, Balthazor Fellowship, external funds)
     GCA = Graduate Curatorial Assistant (Sternberg Museum of Natural History)
     GWA = Graduate Wetlands Assistant (Kansas Wetlands Education Center at Cheyenne Bottoms)

 

elizabeth bainbridge Elizabeth Bainbridge   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: University of Dubuque, IA
Hometown: Teeds Grove, Iowa
Thesis topic: Gender differences in space-use patterns and utilization of Southern Flying Squirrel (Glaucomys volans) throughout northeastern Iowa.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: egbainbridge@mail.fhsu.edu
patrice betz Patrice Betz   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Liberal, Kansas
Thesis topic: Effects of human and environmental factors on the range contraction of birds and mammals.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: pmbetz@mail.fhsu.edu
scott brack Scott Brack   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Newton, Kansas
Thesis topic: Assessing diet of pelagic piscivores with presence of White Perch in Cheney and El Dorado reservoirs in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: sabrack@mail.fhsu.edu
kasandra brown Kasandra Brown   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic: Occupancy modelling snakes at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: kabrown5@mail.fhsu.edu
jeff carter Jeff Carter   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Westminster, Colorado
Thesis topic: Ciprofloxacin-resistant bacteria in avian communities at varying levels of human disturbance.
Advisor: Dr. Farley
E-mail: jjcarter2@mail.fhsu.edu
andrew karlin Andrew Karlin   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Victoria, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: atkarlin@mail.fhsu.edu
  Gracie Larsen   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Ellsworth, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: gmlarsen@mail.fhsu.edu
brendon mccampbell Brendon McCampbell   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: bcmccampbell@mail.fhsu.edu
mitch meyer Mitch Meyer   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Central Missouri
Hometown: Belton, Missouri
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: mlmeyer5@mail.fhsu.edu
kaitlin moore Kaitlin Moore   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Emporia State University, KS
Hometown: Concordia, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: kkmoore2@mail.fhsu.edu
sam pounds Samantha Pounds   GRA – Choate Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Dickinson State University, ND
Hometown: Bakersfield, California
Thesis topic: Comparison of small mammal diversity among three habitats in western North Dakota.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: srpounds@mail.fhsu.edu
taylor rasmussen Taylor Rasmussen   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Morningside College, IA
Hometown: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Thesis topic: Status of Franklin's Ground Squirrel (Poliocitellus franklinii) in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: twrasmussen@mail.fhsu.edu
jeff seim Jeff Seim   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Chapman, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Herpetofaunal community interactions and dynamics at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jtseim@mail.fhsu.edu
brian serpan Brian Serpan   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Timken, Kansas
Thesis topic: Age and growth of large piscivores and potential prey species at Cheney and El Dorado reservoirs, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: baserpan@mail.fhsu.edu
samuel smith Samuel Smith   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Larned, Kansas
Thesis topic: Isolation and characterization of bacteriophages that infect Enterobacter aerogenes.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: sjsmith4@mail.fhsu.edu
angelica sprague Angelica Sprague   GWA
Bachelor's degree: California State University, Sacramento
Hometown: Benicia, California
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: avsprague@mail.fhsu.edu
tej man tamang Tej Man Tamang   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Purbanchal University, Nepal
Hometown: Ramechhap, Nepal
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: tmtamang@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth tharman Elizabeth Tharman   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Benedictine College, KS
Hometown: Atchison, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail eetharman@mail.fhsu.edu
brianna watkins Brianna Watkins   GRA – Balthazor Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: McCook, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Relationship between expression of two glucose transporters on growth rate and food Intake in Channel Catfish (Ictalurus punctatus).
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: brwatkins@mail.fhsu.edu