Biology Graduate Students

Biology Graduate Student Photo Roster

The following graduate students are enrolled full-time during the 2017–2018 academic year.
     GTA = Graduate Teaching Assistant (assist with teaching undergraduate biology labs)
     GRA = Graduate Research Assistant (Fleharty, Choate, and Balthazor Fellowships or external funds)
     GCA = Graduate Curatorial Assistant (Sternberg Museum of Natural History)
     GWA = Graduate Wetlands Assistant (Kansas Wetlands Education Center at Cheyenne Bottoms)

oaklee abernathy 2 Oaklee Abernathy   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Inman, Kansas
Thesis topic: The link between obesity and the expression of O-linked N-acetylglucosamine transferase in Ictalurus punctatus.
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: olabernathy@mail.fhsu.edu
  Rashmi Acharya   GRA – Balthazor Fellowship
Bachelor's degree:
Hometown: Nepal
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail:
  Maram Alsmady
Bachelor's degree:
Hometown: Jordan
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail:
holly anderson Holly Anderson   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Colorado–Colorado Springs
Hometown: Buena Vista, Colorado
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mailhaanderson3@mail.fhsu.edu
tessa brewer Tessa Brewer   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Bethune, Colorado
Thesis topic: Anatomical description of new Troodon formosus hind limbs from the Fox Hills Formation of South Dakota.
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: tjbrewer@mail.fhsu.edu
  Jared Engelbert   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail:
ernesto flores Ernesto Flores   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Ness City, Kansas
Thesis topic: Age and growth of Blue Catfish (Ictalurus furcatus) in two Kansas reservoirs.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: e_flores@mail.fhsu.edu
katya frank Katya Frank   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Wisconsin–Platteville
Hometown: Spring Green, Wisconsin
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: kjfrank@mail.fhsu.edu
chelsea hanson 2 Chelsea Hanson   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Idaho Springs, Colorado
Thesis topic: Succession following a long-term drought in subalpine forests of the Rocky Mountains in Colorado.
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail: cahanson2@mail.fhsu.edu
  Gentry Holaday   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Emporia State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail:
ally hullinger Allison Hullinger   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Pittsburg State University, KS
Hometown: Conway Springs, Kansas
Thesis topic: Critical habitat assessment of the state threatened Broad-Headed Skink in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: arhullinger@mail.fhsu.edu
kolin klozenbucher Kolin Klozenbucher   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Washburn University, KS
Hometown: La Crosse, Kansas
Thesis topic: Genetic surveillance of porcine Translationally Controlled Tumor Protein (TCTP) for potential cancerous polymorphisms.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: kbklozenbucher@mail.fhsu.edu
diedre kramer Diedre Kramer   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic: Spatial ecology of the Ornate Box Turtle (Terrapene ornata) at Quivira National Wildlife Refuge in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: dlkramer3@mail.fhsu.edu
  Tayler Kriss   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail:
josh mead Josh Mead   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Hometown: Kearney, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Spatial ecology of the Western Massasauga (Sistrurus tergeminus) in a large interior wetland.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jjmead@mail.fhsu.edu
jamie oriez Jamie Oriez   GRA – Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: DePauw University, IN
Hometown: Fishers, Indiana
Thesis topic: Impact of landscape factors on the persistence of Cynomys ludovicianus colonies in northwest Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: jaoriez@mail.fhsu.edu
  Derek Peckham   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail:
  Taffra Picking   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail:
  Aline Queiroz   GTA
Bachelor's degree:
Hometown: Brazil
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Maricle
E-mail:
  Jared Ridder
Bachelor's degree: br />Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail:
justin roemer Justin Roemer   GRA – Choate Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Wichita, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Greer
E-mail: jproemer@mail.fhsu.edu
sean rogers Sean Rogers   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Florida Southern College
Hometown: Tampa, Florida
Thesis topic: .
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: scrogers3@mail.fhsu.edu
britanny rogness Brittany Rogness   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Wisconsin–Platteville
Hometown: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: b_rogness@mail.fhsu.edu
kyle schumacher Kyle Schumacher   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Hometown: Wausa, Nebraska
Thesis topic: Grassland bird response to wind energy development.
Advisor: Dr. Greer
E-mail: kwschumacher@mail.fhsu.edu
elizabeth schumann Elizabeth Schumann   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Northeastern State University, OK
Hometown: Newalla, Oklahoma
Thesis topic: Ectoparasite presence and absence in Kansas bat species, with emphasis on the Northern Long-eared Bat (Myotis septentrionalis).
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: emschumann@mail.fhsu.edu
ariel snyder Ariel Snyder   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Dodge City, Kansas
Thesis topic: Survey of frogs affected by Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis in Kansas and variables that affect species susceptibility.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: a_snyder2@mail.fhsu.edu
  Brenda Soto  
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail:
rebekah spainhour Rebekah Spainhour   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Derby, Kansas
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: r_spainhour@mail.fhsu.edu
angel sprague Angelica Sprague   GRA
Bachelor's degree: California State University–Sacramento
Hometown: Benicia, California
Thesis topic: Identification and characterization of Northern Myotis (Myotis septentrionalis) and Tri-colored Bat (Perimyotis subflavus) hibernacula in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: avsprague@mail.fhsu.edu
dylan steffen Dylan Steffen   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Yankton, South Dakota
Thesis topic: Burrowing Owl ecology.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: djsteffen2@mail.fhsu.edu
  Dean Stramel  
Bachelor's degree:
Hometown:
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Greer
E-mail:
elizabeth tanner Elizabeth Tanner   GRA
Bachelor's degree: University of Wisconsin–Platteville
Hometown: Gays Mills, Wisconsin
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: eetanner@mail.fhsu.edu
holly wilson Holly Wilson   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Lubbock Christian University, TX
Hometown: Munday, Texas
Thesis topic: Relationship between diet and temporal partitioning of five bat species in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: hgwilson@mail.fhsu.edu
  Dylan Wise   GTA
Bachelor's degree
Hometown
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: dswise@mail.fhsu.edu
  Drew Zimmerman   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: dmzimmerman4@mail.fhsu.edu
Back to top