Biology Graduate Students

The following graduate students are enrolled full-time during the 2013-2014 academic year.

   GTA = Graduate Teaching Assistant (assist with teaching undergraduate biology labs)
   GRA = Graduate Research Assistant (Fleharty Fellowship, Choate Fellowship, Balthazor Fellowship, or external funds)
   GCA = Graduate Curatorial Assistant (Sternberg Museum of Natural History)
   GWA = Graduate Wetlands Assistant (Kansas Wetlands Education Center at Cheyenne Bottoms Wildlife Area)

elizabeth bainbridge Elizabeth Bainbridge   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Dubuque, IA
Hometown: Teeds Grove, Iowa
Thesis topic:
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: egbainbridge@mail.fhsu.edu
chris baroody Chris Baroody   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Hometown: Hugo, Oklahoma
Thesis topic: Recovery of Rhinocheilus lecontei in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: cabaroody@mail.fhsu.edu
patrice betz Patrice Betz   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Liberal, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: pmbetz@mail.fhsu.edu
scott brack Scott Brack   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown:
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: sabrack@mail.fhsu.edu
kasandra brown Kasandra Brown   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: kabrown5@mail.fhsu.edu
mckenzie brown McKenzie Brown   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Virginia Tech
Hometown: Richmond, Virginia
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: mkbrown11@mail.fhsu.edu
jeff carter Jeff Carter   GRA - Balthazor Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Westminster, Colorado
Thesis topic: Ciprofloxacin-resistant bacteria in avian communities at varying levels of human disturbance.
Advisor: Dr. Farley
E-mail: jjcarter2@mail.fhsu.edu
jessica casey Jessica Casey   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: McCracken, Kansas
Thesis topic: Timing and intensity of steer use on Old World bluestem (Bothriochloa ischaemum) and blue grama (Bouteloua gracilis) in southern mixed-grass prairie.
Advisor: Dr. LaFantasie
E-mail: jlcasey3@mail.fhsu.edu
ian cost Ian Cost   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Bridgewater State University, MA
Hometown: Carver, Massachusetts
Thesis topic: Unusual cervical vertebral column of a plesiosaur from the Kiowa Shale, with a note on preservation.
Advisor: Dr. Bennett
E-mail: incost@mail.fhsu.edu
clinton helms Clinton Helms   GWA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Washington, Kansas
Thesis topic: Effects of grazing treatments on nest success of wet meadow breeding birds at Cheyenne Bottoms Preserve, Barton County, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. LaFantasie
E-mail: cjhelms@mail.fhsu.edu
jenn klaus Jenn Klaus
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Hays, Kansas
Thesis topic: Dispersal of antibiotic-resistant bacteria near central plains feedlots.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: jrpfannenstiel@mail.fhsu.edu
nina haro Nina Luna   GRA - Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: University of California, Santa Barbara
Hometown: El Monte, California
Thesis topic: Possible effects of black-tailed prairie dogs on abundance and diversity of small mammals and raptors in shortgrass prairie.
Advisor: Dr. Farley
E-mail: nmharo@mail.fhsu.edu
frances owen Frances Owen   GTA
Bachelor's degree: University of Dubuque, IA
Hometown: Teeds Grove, Iowa
Thesis topic: Influence of grain, region of study, and human footprint on the effectiveness of higher taxon surrogacy.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: faowen@mail.fhsu.edu
jared oyster Jared Oyster   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Brigham Young University, UT
Hometown: Hewitt, Minnesota
Thesis topic: Evaluation of distance sampling as a technique to monitor pronghorn in Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: jhoyster@mail.fhsu.edu
sam pounds Samantha Pounds   GRA - Choate Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Dickinson State University, ND
Hometown: Bakersfield, California
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mailsrpounds@mail.fhsu.edu
lisa prowant Lisa Prowant   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Benedictine College, KS
Hometown: Shawnee, Kansas
Thesis topic: Inferring species distributions of herpetofauna in south-central Kansas for conservation planning.
Advisor: Dr. Channell
E-mail: lmprowant@mail.fhsu.edu
taylor rasmussen Taylor Rasmussen   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Morningside College, IA
Hometown: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: twrasmussen@mail.fhsu.edu
jeff seim Jeff Seim   GCA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Chapman, Nebraska
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: jtseim@mail.fhsu.edu
brian serpan Brian Serpan   GRA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Timken, Kansas
Thesis topic: Age and growth of large piscivores and potential prey species at Cheney and El Dorado reservoirs, Kansas.
Advisor: Dr. Stark
E-mail: baserpan@mail.fhsu.edu
shofner Ryan Shofner   GRA - Fleharty Fellowship
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Littleton, Colorado
Thesis topic: Ecology of two sand-treading crickets from the San Rafael Desert, Utah.
Advisor: Dr. Packauskas
E-mail: rmshofner@mail.fhsu.edu
samuel smith Samuel Smith   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: Larned, Kansas
Thesis topic: Isolation and characterization of bacteriophages that infect Enterobacter aerogenes.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: sjsmith4@mail.fhsu.edu
shaun suppes Shaun Suppes   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: St. John, Kansas
Thesis topic 
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: smsuppes@mail.fhsu.edu
whitney taylor Whitney Taylor   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: McCracken, Kansas
Thesis topic: Isolation and characterization of bacteriophages that infect Serratia marcescens.
Advisor: Dr. Gillock
E-mail: wataylor@mail.fhsu.edu
brianna watkins Brianna Watkins   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Fort Hays State University, KS
Hometown: McCook, Nebraska
Thesis topic
Advisor: Dr. Kobayashi
E-mail: brwatkins@mail.fhsu.edu
brian zinke Brian Zinke   GTA
Bachelor's degree: Kansas State University
Hometown: Lenexa, Kansas
Thesis topic: Small mammal community structure at a dried wetland site.
Advisor: Dr. Finck
E-mail: bmzinke@mail.fhsu.edu