Faculty, Staff, & Administration,

Good morning and welcome to a new academic year! Serving the Faculty Senate as President is my distinct honor and privilege. Thank you, Rob Byer, former president, for your support, guidance, inclusiveness, and friendship over the past year. I sincerely appreciate you.

Throughout the history of our institution, there have been many successes and challenges - the fiber of who we are is grounded in having a vision and persevering; the sentiment was reiterated in the latest *Roar Magazine* in a piece by Cyndi Landis entitled, *Growing in the Great American Desert*. For over 120 years, FHSU has continually proven that we can press on and stay the course through hard work, dedication, and a commitment centered on who we are and why we are here - ultimately, it's our students.

This year, the Faculty Senate will continue the work on student success as a guiding principle. Additionally, in the spirit of shared governance that has been continuously cultivated with President Mason, Provost Arensdorf, Staff Senate, Student Government Association, the FHSU Chapter of AAUP, and other core groups, the Senate will continue to serve as a body that strives to engage, support, question, and communicate with all stakeholders.

I invite all faculty to share in the governance of Fort Hays State University through the open Faculty Senate meetings and urge you to seek out your Faculty Senate Representative. All meeting dates are available on the Faculty Senate website.

Lastly, I thank Past presidents Rob Byer & Kevin Splichal, Faculty Senate Vice-president Shane Shartz, Secretary Anita Walters, and Parliamentarian Cole Engel for their invaluable commitment, support, and service. I appreciate you all!

Thank you all for your time, and have a wonderful year!

Most Respectfully, Elodie Jones, Faculty Senate President Shane Shartz, Faculty Senate Vice President Anita Walters, Faculty Senate Secretary