Blackboard Frequently Asked Questions:
Instructor Information

Note: The CTC HelpDesk provides only basic Blackboard assistance for instructors. If you do not see an answer to your question here, for further assistance, instructors should view the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies Blackboard Help or Faculty Tutorials pages, see the Blackboard section of the Faculty and Staff Tech Support site, send an e-mail to BbSupport@fhsu.edu, or contact CTELT at 785-628-4194 between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm Central Time, Monday through Friday.


Who do I contact for help with Blackboard?
How can I find a student in Blackboard?
A particular student is already listed in my course on Blackboard, but the student is still unable to see my course in their account. What should I do?
Students say my content or test isn't visible. What should I do?
How can I make a previous semester course visible to a student?
Students say they are redirected to their Blackboard home page when clicking on a SafeAssignment "View/Complete" link in my course. How do I synchronize my course to resolve this problem?
What are the maximum upload size limits and acceptable file extensions in Blackboard?
How do I add students to Blackboard?


Who do I contact for help with Blackboard?

For assistance with Blackboard or other learning technologies, instructors should view the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies Blackboard Help page, send an e-mail to BbSupport@fhsu.edu or CTELTsupport@fhsu.edu, or contact CTELT at 785-628-4194 between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm Central Time, Monday through Friday.

Back to Top


How can I find a student in Blackboard?

Tips for Faculty for locating students in Blackboard:

  • Blackboard accounts for new students are created after FHSU’s student system rolls over to the new semester (this occurs after all processing has been completed for the previous semester). New Blackboard accounts should be available within one week before classes begin, under normal processing conditions.  Please allow at least two business days for processing after a student has finalized enrollment. See additional information explaining when services that use the TigerTracks login become available.
  • If Blackboard is used for a course, the student should be automatically added to the Blackboard course by the first day of classes. If a student adds a course after this date, the student will be automatically added into the Blackboard course within one business day after completing enrollment (payment) for that course.
    If you are unable to locate an enrolled student in your Blackboard course after allowing sufficient time for processing to occur, see the search suggestions listed below. If you are still unable to locate the student, please contact us.
  • If you cannot find a student when searching by last name, there is a possibility that the student's name has been changed on the student's official student record, and Blackboard has not yet been updated. Try searching for the student in Blackboard using the TigerTracks username or the Maiden name. To search by username, make sure to choose Username in the first search field before clicking Go.
  • A student's username can be found by using the TigerTracks Directory Search. The TigerTracks username is the first portion of the student's FHSU e-mail address (FHSU Mail address).
  • Students with questions about changing their TigerTracks username/FHSU Mail e-mail address can be referred to the TigerTracks Username/Student E-Mail Address Change Information page.

For further assistance with locating students in Blackboard, Faculty should contact CTELT at 785-628-4194.

Back to Top


A particular student is already listed in my course on Blackboard, but the student is still unable to see my course in their account. What should I do?

Sometimes, if an instructor chooses to enroll students in the course manually and two students have similar names, the wrong student may be enrolled in the course. It is always recommended to search for students using their usernames. For additional search tips, see How can I find a student in Blackboard?

A more common reason for this problem, however, is that the student’s availability to view the course has been turned off. To check this, go to the Control Panel for that course, click on Users and Groups, and then click on Users. Click on the options menu (double-arrows) icon next to the student’s name and choose Change User’s Availability in Course.

Back to Top


Students say my content or test isn't visible. What should I do?

It is possible the content is set to be unavailable or a time limit to view the material has passed. Go to your Control Panel. Find the area where the content is saved and check to see if the icon is grayed out or seems faint. If the item is grayed out it will not be available for students to see or access.

To change the availability, go to the content item and turn on Edit mode. Scroll down to the Options section and change Permit Users to View the Content Item to Yes. If the time limit has expired, uncheck the date restrictions for the item or reset the date for the current semester. Many times, using dates (other than for testing) makes content more difficult to manage from semester to semester. When finished, click the Submit button and your item will then be available to students.

Back to Top


How can I make a previous semester course visible to a student??

If one of your students needs continued access to a course (to do Incomplete work or for other reasons), you will need to make the course available and then disable access for the other students who completed the course.

To make your course available (this will make it available to all students in the course): 
Go into your Blackboard course, and then select: Control Panel > CustomizationProperties > Set Availability > Yes.  Click Submit to save the change.

To disable access for other students who do not need access to the course: 
Select Control Panel > Users and Groups > Users.  Click on the down-arrow by the student's name (it will appear on the right side of the name).  Select Change User Availability in Course and set Available (this course only) to NO.  Click Submit to save the change.

Back to Top


Students say they are redirected to their Blackboard home page when clicking on a SafeAssign "View/Complete" link in my course. How do I synchronize my course to resolve this problem?

This problem occurs when a course that uses SafeAssign needs to be "synchronized" with the SafeAssign central database. To synchronize your course, click on the Welcome tab, and then click on the course you wish to synchronize. Go to the Control Panel. Under Course Tools, click on SafeAssign, and then click Synchronize this Course.

For further assistance with synchronizing your course or using SafeAssign, instructors should view the Blackboard Beginning of Semester Checklist (PDF), which can be viewed with Adobe Reader (Free) or contact CTELT at 785-628-4194.

Back to Top


How do I add students to Blackboard?

Instructors are no longer required to add students into their Blackboard courses; this is now done automatically. For more information, see How can I find a student in Blackboard?

Back to Top