Men of Merit 

Fall 2015 Men of Merit
Jared Cook, Dr. Joey Linn, Cody Scheck, Daniel Ibarra, Matt Kaiser, Jacob Patrick, Hector Villanueva, Jon Traynor Whitehead, Zach Walker, Jacob Ternes, Xiaotian Marcus Gao, David Bollig

What is the FHSU Men of Merit project
The goal of this project is to recognize FHSU men who positively define masculinity through challenging norms, taking action and leading by example while making outstanding contributions to FHSU and/or the community 

Challenging norms - Our society's culture has a dominant image of what it is to be a man, and it often means being tough and aggressive, always winning and never showing caring emotions. A "Men of Merit" challenges those norms.

Taking  action - Taking action does not always mean being the president of an organization or the chair of some endeavor. Often taking action means working behind the scenes or working productively as a member of a group.

Leading by example - There are many ways that men lead by example and serve as role models for others. Being open to collaboration, standing up for the rights of others, and knowing when to lead and when to allow others to lead can all be ways that Men of Merit positively define masculinity.

Outstanding contributions - Can include active involvement, taking a leadership role, and/or creating or contributing to a project, program or initiative that has made a positive impact on the campus or community.

Why recognize men who challenge stereotypes?
Current research supports the important role gender plays in college students' identity development, academic achievement, and choices they make in determining their life path. Recently, attention has been focused on men's declining enrollment in college as well as their rates of underperformance and underachievement compared to women. In fact, recent indicates that nationally, male students are less likely to complete a bachelor's degree than are female students. In addition, they are less likely to engage in volunteer activities and participate in clubs and organizations. This growing gender gap points to the need for college campuses to address this disparity by providing male role models and creating mechanisms that increase men's involvement and contributions.


Spring 2015 Men of Merit: Seth Kastle, Manny Ultreras III, Tanner Younie, Dr. Darrell Hamlin, Ulises Gonzalez, Craig Karlin, Baron Green, Brett Bruner, Brandon Taylor, Cameron Rohleder, Luke Abbott, Chris Crawford

2014 Men of Merit: Korby Boswell, Vince Bowhay, Dakota Grote, Johnny Hill, Dr. Adam Holden, Kyle Mayor, Clay Peppiat, Matthew Spurlock, Austin Tatro, Jason Williby, Serhly Zyhkin, Taylor Wade
2013 Men of Merit: Kyle Calvin, Greg Schuler, Dr. Justin Greenleaf, Timothy Parker, Adam Regier, Dr. Hongbiao Zeng, Tim Callahan, Tre` Giles, Garrett Karhs, Matthew Means, Joshua Doak, and Damien Joseph Hightower 
2012 Men of Merit: Jordan Schmeidler, Brendan McCampbell, Dr. Eric Leuschner, Jared Grauerholz, Levi Unruh, George Jackson III, Bret Whitaker, Dr. Lane Weaver, Robert Duffy, Kenton E. Russell, Dr. Curt Brungardt, Dr. Kenton L. Olliff, John MOntgomery, Al McCray, and Calvin Nguyen

Back to top