english-banner.jpg

How to Reach Us

Department of English
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Rarick Hall 370
Phone: 785-628-4285

Contact Us

English Department on Facebook Informatics on YouTube

English Faculty and Staff

Eric Leuschner
Eric-Leuschner

Chair and Associate Professor
PhD, University of Missouri-Columbia, 2004

History and Theory of the Novel, Representations and Discourses of the University, Eighteenth-Century British Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 370
Phone: 628-4285
E-mail: edleuschner@fhsu.edu

Amy Richecky
AJR

Senior Administrative Assistant
B.A., Business Administration, Fort Hays State University, 2010

Office: Rarick Hall 370
Phone: 628-4285
E-mail: ajrichecky@fhsu.edu

James Austin
Dr. James Austin

Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 2015
MFA, University of California, Irvine, 2004

Composition, Creative Writing, Literacy Studies, Fiction, Writing Studies, Transnationalism, US-Style Education Abroad, Writing Programs

Office: Rarick Hall 376
Phone: 628-4229
E-mail: jpaustin@fhsu.edu

Lexey Bartlett
Dr. Lexey Bartlett

Associate Professor
Nationally Competitive Scholarships Advisor
PhD, University of Texas at Arlington, 2005

Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Comparative and British Literature, Art History, Critical Theory

Office: Rarick Hall 365
Phone: 628-5817
E-mail: labartlett@fhsu.edu

Jacinta Carter

Instructor

MA, Fort Hays State University

Composition

Office:

Phone:

E-mail:

Morgan Chalfant
Morgan Chalfant

Instructor
MA, Fort Hays State University, 2010

Composition

Office: Rarick Hall 378
Phone: 628-5916
E-mail: mcchalfant@fhsu.edu

Brenda Craven
Brenda Craven New

Instructor
MA, Fort Hays State University, 2003

Composition, Business and Technical Writing, Literature of the American South

Office: Rarick Hall 361
Phone: 628-5384
E-mail: bcraven@fhsu.edu

Cheryl Hofstetter Duffy
CherylDuffy

Professor
Becky and Mike Goss Distinguished Professor of Excellence in Teaching
Director of Composition
PhD, University of Kansas, 1996

Composition and Rhetoric, English Language, Service Learning

Office: Rarick Hall 357
Phone: 628-5317
E-mail: cduffy@fhsu.edu

Amanda Ergun

Instructor

Composition

Office:

Phone:

E-mail:

Amanda Fields
Amanda Fields

Assistant Professor
Director of the Writing Center 

PhD, University of Arizona, 2015
MFA, University of Minnesota, 2005

Rhetoric and Composition, Creative Nonfiction, Fiction, Public Rhetorics, Queer Rhetorics

Office: Rarick Hall 359
Phone: 628-5914

E-mail:  ajfields@fhsu.edu or ajfields@mail.fhsu.edu

Sharon Graham
SharonGraham

Instructor
MA, Lincoln Christian University, 2012
MDivBL, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, 1997

Composition, English as a Second/Foreign Language, Intercultural Studies, Distance Education 

Office: Forsyth Library 070
Phone: 628-4651
E-mail: sagraham2@fhsu.edu

Jason Harper
Jason Harper

Senior Lecturer and International Coordinator
CELTA, University of Cambridge-Beijing, 2008
MFA, Wichita State University, 2006
MA, Northern Michigan University, 2002

Fiction & Nonfiction, ESL/EFL, Business Writing, Composition, Multicultural Rhetorics, Psychoanalytic Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 393
Phone: 628-4773
E-mail for students: jkharper@mail.fhsu.edu
Administrative E-mail: jkharper@fhsu.edu

Sharla Hutchison
Sharla Hutchison

Professor
Coordinator, Master of Liberal Studies Literary Arts Concentration
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2002

British and American Literary Modernism, Women's Writing, Critical Theory, Composition

Office: Rarick Hall 374
Phone: 628-5376
E-mail: shutchis@fhsu.edu

Dan Kulmala
Dan Kulmala

Professor 

PhD, University of Kansas, 2000 

Office: Malloy 203 

Phone: 628-4358 

E-mail: dwkulmala@fhsu.edu

Linda McHenry
Linda McHenry 3

Instructor
Coordinator of Composition Assessment
MA, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, 1993

Specialist in the Teaching of Writing

Office: Rarick Hall 358
Phone: 628-5913
E-mail: lrmchenry@fhsu.edu

Michael F. Meade
Dr. Michael Meade

Associate Professor
PhD, Comparative Literature, University of Wisconsin, 1969

Twentieth-Century European Novel; French, German, Italian; Literary Criticism; Renaissance Art and Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 372
Phone: 628-5385
E-mail: mmeade@fhsu.edu

Pauline Scott
Pauline Scott

Professor
MA English Advisor
PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1994

Early Modern Literature, Comparative Literature, and Literary Theory

Office: Rarick Hall 364
Phone: 628-5330
E-mail: pmscott3@fhsu.edu

Carl Singleton
Carl Singleton

Professor    
PhD, Loyola University of Chicago, 1982

Generalist, 20th-Century American Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 363
Phone: 628-4243
E-mail: csinglet@fhsu.edu

Matthew Smalley
Smalley Matthew

Assistant Professor

PhD, University of Kansas, 2016 

19th Century Literature and Culture, Early American Literature, Literature of the Immigrant Experience, Religion and Literature, 20th Century Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 375

Phone: 628-5341

E-mail: mrsmalley3@fhsu.edu

Linda E. Smith
Smith, Linda 51717

Instructor
MA, Fort Hays State University, 1993

English as a Second Language, Composition, Environmental Literature, Leopold Education Project, Secondary Education

Office: Rarick Hall 367
Phone: 628-4210
E-mail: lsmith@fhsu.edu

Brett Weaver
BrettWeaver

Associate Professor
PhD, University of North Texas, 2000

Creative Writing (Fiction and Drama), Latin-American Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 380
Phone: 628-4220
E-mail: bweaver@fhsu.edu

Bradley Will
BradWill

Associate Professor
Assistant Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 1998

Twentieth-Century American Literature, Literary Theory, Science-Fiction and Fantasy Literature, the Sublime

Office: Davis Hall 206C
Phone: 628-5347
E-mail: bwill@fhsu.edu

Sharon Wilson
SharonWilson

Instructor
Director of Teacher Education
MA, University of Nebraska, Omaha, 1972

Ethnic Literature, especially Native-American and Hispanic; Young-Adult Literature

Office: Rarick Hall 373
Phone: 628-5814
E-mail: swilson@fhsu.edu

International Faculty

Cathy Adams
Cathy Adams 2

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Shenyang Normal University

CELTA, University of Cambridge-Chiang Mai, 2014
MFA, Pacific Lutheran University, 2010
MA, State University of West Georgia, 1994

Composition

Office: College of International Business, 612
E-mail: caadams2@fhsu.edu

J. Lynn Adams
Jack Adams

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Shenyang Normal University

MA, University of Texas at Tyler, 2015
JD, Michigan State University, 2012

Composition

Office: College in International Business, 612 

E-Mail: jladams8@fhsu.edu

Andy Bolt
Andy Bolt

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Shenyang Normal University

MFA, George Mason University, 2010
MA, Kansas State University, 2006

Composition

Office: College of International Business, 612
E-mail: ajbolt@fhsu.edu

Kim Eagles
Kim Eagles

Assistant Professor/Virtual College International

Sias International University

PhD, Keiser University

Introduction to Business English, Listening and Conversation, Writing in the Professions, Introduction to Communication

Office: Hammond Hall 15-212

E-mail: koeagles@fhsu.edu

Zachary Hampton
Zachary Hampton

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MEd, Middle Tennessee State University, 2010

Composition

Office: Hammond Hall 15-212
E-mail: zchampton@fhsu.edu

Jodi Hill
Jodi Hill

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MS, Fort Hays State University, 2014

Composition

E-mail: jchill@fhsu.edu

Randy Jones
Randy Jones

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Shenyang Normal University

MEd - TESOL, Shenandoah University, 2012

Composition, Argumentation, English as a Second Language

Office: College of International Business, 612
E-mail: jrjones2@fhsu.edu

Mary Huyck Mulka
Mary Huyck Mulka

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MS, Fort Hays State University, 2014
MFA, Minnesota State University Moorhead, 2009

Composition, Creative Writing, Instructional Technology, English as a Foreign Language, Publishing and Mass Media

E-mail: mehuyck@fhsu.edu

Neil Mulka
Neil Mulka

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MA, Emporia State University, 2015

Composition

E-mail: ncmulka@fhsu.edu

Kimman Phan
Kimman Pham photo

Assistant Professor/Virtual College International
Sias International University

PhD, Biola University, 2005

Introduction to Business English, Listening and Conversation, Writing in the Professions, Introduction to Communication (virtual)

Office: Hammond Hall 15-212

E-mail: ktpham@fhsu.edu

Kimberli Tundevold
Kimberli Tundevold

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MA, Azusa Pacific University, 2012

Composition

E-mail: katundevold@fhsu.edu

Ahneka Valdois
Ahneka Valdois

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MA, University of Colorado, 2011

Composition

E-mail: ajvaldois@fhsu.edu

R. Aaron Vigil
R. Aaron Vigil

Instructor of English/Virtual College International
Sias International University

MA, Northern Arizona University, 2015

Composition

Phone: +86 13253627078
E-mail: ravigil2@fhsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Bryan Corbin
Bryan Corbin

 

Instructor 

EdD, Southwestern College, 2016 

MA, Western New Mexico University, 2013 

MA Chatham University, 2009 

Composition, Appreciative Inquiry, ESL/EFL, Business Writing 

E-mail: bmcorbin@fhsu.edu

Gennifer Marconette
Gennifer Marconette

Instructor 

MFA, New England College, 2005 

Composition 

E-mail: gamarconette@fhsu.edu

Justin Nicholes
Justin Nicholes

Instructor 

MFA, Wichita State University, 2007 

MA, Kent State University, 2003 

Writing Across the Curriculum, College-Student Retention, TESOL 

E-mail: jrnicholes@fhsu.edu  

Courtney Rankin

Instructor

John Ross
John Ross

Instructor/Virtual College 

MS, Fort Hays State University, 1994 

Composition, Business Writing 

E-mail: jross@fhsu.edu

Back to top