department of informatics banner

How to Reach Us

Department of Informatics
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Hammond Hall
Phone: 785-628-5373
Contact Us

Informatics on Facebook Informatics on YouTube

CCNA and CCNP Preparation Available

FHSU offers preparation for both the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) and the Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) certifications. We are the only university in Kansas and the mid-western part of the United States to offer both of these certifications. Programs are designed for persons desiring to earn undergraduate or graduate degrees. They are also designed for professionals simply seeking additional skills and a valuable certification. FHSU offers both specific preparation for Cisco certifications and offers an academic certification as well.

The CCNA is the first level Cisco Certification. This certification is NOT vender specific. It is designed to develop key network design, installation, and maintenance skills. The CCNA preparation consists of two courses and one test. After taking two semesters, CCNA consists of two courses: Internetworking I & II. The course can be taken on campus or on-line. New on-line classes start each semester.

An outline of the CCNA curriculum

The CCNP preparation consists of four courses and four standardized certification examinations. These courses are: Advanced Routing, Advanced Remote Access, Advanced LAN Switching, and Advanced Internetwork Troubleshooting. Like the CCNA courses, the CCNP courses may be taken for undergraduate or graduate credits. Graduate credits require additional assignments and higher standards than required for undergraduates. After each CCNP course the student will take the corresponding certification exam.

The CCNA and CCNP courses may be applied toward the elective emphasis in INT for INT majors. Some of these courses fit into the BGS with an emphasis in INT and the MLS with an emphasis in INT.

Back to top