forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Asherville | Beloit | Blue Hill | Cawker City | Glen Elder | Hunter | Mennonite Community | Simpson | Tipton | Victor

Homesteading in Mitchell County


The land of Aaron A. Bell was the site picked for a town in 1866. He deeded part of his property to Timothy Hersey, and the two men began to establish the new town. The settlement was named Willow Springs after the springs along the north bank of the Solomon River. However, there was a post office in Douglas County, established in 1861, that already had the name of Willow Springs. Mr. Hersey's hometown in Wisconsin was Beloit, so he chose that name for the new town. The town site's plot was filed with the register of deeds on March 26, 1872, and the city was organized as a city of third class that same year.

The ethnicity of its settlers is unknown.


Mitchell County Elementary Students. Mitchell County Historical Essays, 1962-1976. N.D.

Baughman, Robert W. (1961). Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961 . Retrieved December 1, 2005 from 

Hours and Contacts

Monday,April 21 Forsyth will close at 10 pm because of no electricity

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099