forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Asherville | Beloit | Blue Hill | Cawker City | Glen Elder | Hunter | Mennonite Community | Simpson | Tipton | Victor

Homesteading in Mitchell County

Cawker City

The town site was picked in 1870 by four men - E. Harrison Cawker, J. P. Rice, R. G. T. Kshinka, and John J. Huckle. Rice built the first stone building and Cawker built a steam mill. The name came from a game of "seven-up" which was won by Cawker.

The ethnicity of its settlers is unknown.


Mitchell County Elementary Students. Mitchell County Historical Essays, 1962-1976. N.D.


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099