forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Homesteading in Cloud County

Cloud County Map
Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.


Cloud County, located in eastern Kansas was founded in 1866, and is bordered by the Republican and the Solomon Rivers. This county also shares borders with Ottawa, Jewell, Clay, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties.  The current county seat is Concordia, and the county is home to the annual Watermelon Festival, which has been held every year since 1899.

The first people to come to Cloud County were the Fowler brothers in 1858. The Fowler brothers planted a town site, which they called Eaton City, and built the Conklin House. The Conklin House was the first house in the county.

Permanent organization of the county was official on September 6, 1866, with Elk City being named the temporary county seat. Cloud County was originally called Shirley County in honor of Governor William Shirley of Massachusetts. The name was later changed to Cloud County to honor Colonel William F. Cloud of the Second Regiment of the Kansas Volunteers.


Blackmar, Frank W., ed. Kansas: A Cyclopedia of  State History, Embracing Events, Institutions, Industries, Counties, Cities, Towns, Prominent Persons, etc.. Chicago, IL: Standard Publishing Company, 1912. 371-74. Print.


Hours and Contacts

Monday,April 21 Forsyth will close at 10 pm because of no electricity

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099