forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Homesteading in Jewell County

Jewell County map
Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.


Jewell County was officially organized in 1870, and the current county seat is Mankato. The county was named Jewell County to honor Lieutenant-Colonel Lewis R. Jewell, a member of the Sixth Kansas Cavalry. This county is located along the Kansas-Nebraska border and is approximately 150 miles from the Missouri River.

The first settlers in Jewell County were William Harshberger and his wife, as well as A. Clark and his wife.  

The rumored history of Jewell County is particularly bloody. The Sioux and the Pawnee tribes fought a gruesome battle outside of an early settlement, leaving the warriors of the Pawnee tribe dead. Several massacres followed. One notable occurrence was in the spring of 1867 when some members from the Cheyenne tribe started a massacre that killed many of the residents. Any survivors of this massacre left the settlement, threatening to wipe it off the map.


Cutler, William G. History of the State of Kansas. Chicago IL: A. T. Andreas, 1883.

Paragraphs written by intern Holly Younger in 2012


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099