forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Basil / Gage | Belmont | Cleveland | Cunningham | Kingman | Murdock | Nashville | Norwich | Penalosa | Rago | Spivey | Waterloo | Willowdale | Zenda 


Homesteading in Kingman County

Kingman County map

Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.

Peketon County was created by the Kansas Legislature on February 21, 1860. This county was huge, as its boundaries encompassed one fourth of the state. It became defunct on February 26, 1867 when it was attached to Marion County.

Harper and Reno Counties were created out of Marion County in 1868 by the Kansas Legislature. In January 1872, three tiers of townships on the south side of Reno County were detached to become Kingman County, and Harper County's north tier of townships were attached to Kingman County. Governor Thomas A. Osborn organized the county on February 27, 1874.

The county is named for Samuel A. Kingman who had served as Chief Justice of the State Supreme Court.

The Nashville area was settled by German Lutherans who built the first Lutheran church in town.


"Kingman County History: Kingman County, Kansas and Its People." Kingman, KS: Kingman County Historical Society, 1984.

Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099