forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties 

AlmenaCalvert | Clayton | Dellvale | Densmore | Devises | Dunkard Colony | Edmund | Lenora | Leota | New Almelo | Norton | Oronoque | Rockwell City  

Homesteading in Norton County


Located about 6 miles southwest of Norton, this town site was settled in 1873. The town was platted and filed on June 5, 1879 by I. N. Cope. It was originally known as Weston, but when the townspeople petitioned for a post office, the officials refused to name it after the town because Weston was already taken by another town in Kansas. the name was then changed to Leota after the daughter of Mr. M. A. Morrison, one of the town's founders. Leota was in a hotly contested venture between 1875-18778 to become the county seat, but eventually lost that to Norton after people tired of the long struggle. Even though Mr. Cope platted the town site after Norton became the county seat, some of the buildings were moved to Oronoque. Eventually, the settlement was vacated on July 3, 1882.

The ethnicity of its settlers is not known.


Bowers, D. N. Seventy Years in Norton County, Kansas, 1872-1942. The Norton County Champion,
Norton, Kansas, 1942.
Nicholson, John H. A History of Norton County, Kansas. Masters Thesis,
Colorado State College of Education, 1941.


Hours and Contacts

Monday,April 21 Forsyth will close at 10 pm because of no electricity

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099