forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Asherville | Beloit | Blue Hill | Cawker City | Glen Elder | Hunter | Mennonite Community | Simpson | Tipton | Victor

Homesteading in Mitchell County

Mennonite Community

In 1871, Jacob Marzolf and Henry Kohler arrived in Mitchell County from Wathena, Kansas, to find some land to farm. After spending the winter back in Wathena, they and their families made the move to their new land. By 1879, several other Mennonite families had joined them coming from Illinois, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

Church meetings were held in their homes beginning in 1881; by 1897, the meetings were being held in the Naomi Mennonite Meeting House. The last church meeting was on November 8, 1964. Many of the members had moved away from the area by that time.


Mitchell County Elementary Students. Mitchell County Historical Essays, 1962-1976. N.D.


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099