forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties 

Bogue | Gettysburg | Hill City | Millbrook | Morland | Nicodemus | Penokee | Roscoe | St. Peter

Homesteading in Graham County


Located about three miles southwest of Hill City, Millbrook was platted on April 8, 1879 by a homesteader named N. C. Terrell. He owned the general store that was established in the fall of 1878. Millbrook was named the temporary county seat on April 1, 1880 by Governor John P. St. John, and it retained the county seat following an election in June. The choices were Millbrook, Gettysburg, Hill City and Roscoe. Another election was held in July 1881 and Millbrook got 473 votes to Gettysburg's 349; shortly thereafter people started leaving Gettysburg to move to Millbrook.

A tornado (or cyclone as it was known in those days) hit the town on August 4, 1887 and basically wiped it out. Hill City then decided to take advantage of the downfall of Millbrook to bring the county seat to them. The voters in the election held on March 6, 1888 decided that Hill City would become the county seat. The Millbrook post office was discontinued on August 15, 1889 and moved to Hill City.

By 1895, an act of the Kansas Legislature vacated the town sites of Roscoe, Gettysburg, and Millbrook.

The ethnicity of its settlers is unknown.


Clary, Blossom and Ruth Siegrist. "Centennial Tid-Bits." Hill City, KS: Hill City Times, 1980.


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099