forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Asherville | Beloit | Blue Hill | Cawker City | Glen Elder | Hunter | Mennonite Community |Simpson | Tipton | Victor  

Homesteading in Mitchell County

Mitchell County map
Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.

Settlers arrived in the area in 1866 and began to farm their claims. They had to deal with the Indians who raided the settlers numerous times between 1866 and 1870. May 9, 1870 was when 3 men were killed and July 2 was the last Indian raid in the county.

The county was organized in 1870 and Beloit was named the county seat. Mitchell County was named in honor of Captain William D. Mitchell of the Second Kentucky Cavalry, and formerly a private in the Kansas Second Cavalry.

Some of the settlers were of German heritage, most notably in the town of Tipton. Others were of Irish, English and French heritage.


Mitchell County Elementary Students. Mitchell County Historical Essays, 1962-1976. N.D.

Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099