forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

 List of Kansas Counties

Burrton | Halstead | Hesston | Newton | North Newton | Sedgwick | Walton

Homesteading in Harvey County


In 1869, a group of settlers formed the Sedgwick Town Company, and the company laid out the new town site in June 1870. It was the first city organized in what was to become Harvey County. The town was named for Maj. John M. Sedgwick of the U. S. Army.

A post office was established in the late summer of 1870. One of the first buildings in town was a schoolhouse built in September 1870. The town was incorporated on March 16, 1872, after the county was organized a few weeks earlier on February 29.

Sedgwick vied for the county seat, but Newton ended up with it, being as it was near the center of the county. Sedgwick is located at the southern most boundary line which borders Sedgwick County. Today most of the town is in Harvey County, but part of it is in Sedgwick County.


Smurr, Linda C. ed. Harvey County History. Texas: Curtis Media Corporation, 1990.


Hours and Contacts

Monday,April 21 Forsyth will close at 10 pm because of no electricity

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099