forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties 

Edson | Eustis | Gandy | Goodland | Itasca | Kanorado | Ruleton | Sherman Center | Voltaire

Homesteading in Sherman County

Sherman Center

Sherman Center, first called Shermanville, was founded in May 1886 near the geographical center of Sherman County. On September 20, 1886, the town was established by Governor John A. Martin's proclamation; the same proclamation also named Eustis the temporary county seat. Shortly after Goodland was founded several miles to the south, the town of Sherman Center ceased to exist.

The ethnicity of its settlers is not known.


"They Came to Stay". Sherman County Historical Society, 1980.
Olson, Daryl A. "A History of Sherman County, 1880-1960". Masters Thesis, Fort Hays Kansas State College, 1966


Hours and Contacts

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099