forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties

Homesteading in Stanton County

Stanton County map
Prentis, Noble Lovely. "History of Kansas". Winfield, KS: E. P. Greer, 1899.

 Stanton County was organized in 1887 and is named for Edwin Stanton, who served as Abraham Lincoln’s Secretary of War. Johnson City is the permanent county seat. This county is located in the far southwest corner of Kansas and shares a border with Colorado, as well as the neighboring counties of Hamilton, Grant, and Morton.


"Stanton County, Kansas." Kansapedia. Kansas Historical Society, 2012. Web. 24 Apr. 2012.

Paragraph written by intern Holly Younger in 2012.



Hours and Contacts

Extended Hours starting Sunday, March 23 until the end of the semester:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099