forsyth library

Search the Online Catalog

List of Kansas Counties 

Banner | Bosna  | Buckeye | CollyerCoyote | Cyrus | Gibson | Mendota | Ogallah  | Park's Fort  | Schreader  | Smytheville | Stockrange | Trego  | Trego Center | Trego Station | Tregola | Valley | Voda | WaKeeney | Willcox


Homesteading in Trego County


Although it was surveyed, blocked, and platted, Tregola had few settlers. The primary occupants, soldiers found safety from the Indians in the all-rock buildings. Lumber was not used in any of the buildings.

After the post office was established in October of 1891, Claus Schermann served as the postmaster. The post office closed in June of 1893.

Today, nothing remains of Tregola, and the ethnicity of its settlers remains unknown.


Kroeger, Nadine. Interview by author. Trego County Historical Society. WaKeeney, KS.
5 August 2002.

Shearer, Ruth. “Ghost Towns in Trego County.” Chap. in Local History as Presented to
the Trego County Historical Society. 2d ed. n.p. 1974.


Hours and Contacts

Monday,April 21 Forsyth will close at 10 pm because of no electricity

Spring Hours:
Sun:             1:00 pm - 2:00 am
Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 2:00 am
Friday:         7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat:            10:00 am - 5:00 pm

For current month(s) and detailed information, please select desired month under announcements (below).

Phone: 785.628.4434
Fax: 785.628.4096
Contacts Directory
Mailing Address:
   Forsyth Library
   600 Park Street
   Hays, KS 67601
Physical Address:

   502 South Campus Drive
   Hays, KS 67601-4099