How to Reach Us

Department of Management
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
McCartney Hall 302
Phone: (785) 628-4201
Contact Us

Management Department on Facebook

Tormey named 2013 winner of FHSU's Torch Award as outstanding graduating senior

Jessica Tormey was named as the recipient of the Torch Award as the outstanding graduating senior from the Class of 2013 at Fort Hays State University. She received a Bachelor of Science in Business Education and a B.S. in Secondary Education. 

Dr. Marcy Aycock, a 1984 graduate of FHSU and president of the FHSU Alumni Association, introduced Tormey as the Torch Award winner. One faculty member, said Aycock, wrote of Tormey, "This student has demonstrated the self-will and determination to make her a successful student and contributor in society. It was very evident when I first met this individual that she would be a very special student to Fort Hays State University."

She has been actively engaged in the Phi Beta Lambda and Collegiate DECA business organizations as well as FHSU’s Marketing Management Association, Student Government Association and Anderson VIP Ambassadors. Most recently, Tormey was selected as Collegiate DECA National Vice-President. She is also a former flutist in FHSU’s marching and concert bands and wind ensemble. In her work with the SGA, Tormey headed the highly important and sometimes very difficult Appropriations Committee for more than two full terms.

The Torch Award candidates are nominated by members of the faculty on the basis of classroom excellence, participation in professional organizations and involvement in student or civic activities. The Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 46,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 70 foreign countries.



Back to top