How to Reach Us

Department of Political Science
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Rarick Hall 355
Phone: 785-628-4425
Contact Department

Political Science on Facebook Political Science on Twitter Political Science on Instagram Political Science on Linkedin

Shala Mills, J.D. - Political Science Department Chair



Rarick 356
785 628 5393http://ejournal.missouristate.edu/index.php/ejournal/article/view/59

About Shala

Dr. Shala Mills began at FHSU in 1994 serving first as the university's Affirmative Action Officer, joining the Department of Political Science in 1997, and becoming Chair of the Department of Political Science in 2006. For several years she was the Pre-law advisor and sponsor of the Pre-law Society. In addition to her departmental duties, Dr. Mills serves as the National Coordinator for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities' Global Challenges Project.

Dr. Mills has previously served the FHSU campus on the General Education Committee, and continues service on the Council for Institutional Effectiveness, the NSSE Taskforce, the International Education Management Group, and the Council for Arts and Sciences Chairs. She has worked closely with the Office of Strategic Partnerships and Shenyang Normal University to create, develop and deliver a B.A. in Political Science to students in China.

During her tenure at FHSU, Dr. Mills has been a recipient of the FHSU Pilot Award (2006)and the FHSU Navigator Award (2000). She also received the National Mortar Board Excellence in Advising Award (2000).


J.D. University of Kansas
B.A. Baylor University


American Civil Liberties
Constitutional Law
Current Political Issues
Food and Politics
Global Challenges
Intro to Law
Legal Advocacy
Legal Research Methods
Political Philosophy


Academic Leadership and Change
Education in the 21st Century
Global Challenges
Law and the Courts

Recent Scholarship

Back to Faculty and Staff

Back to top