How to Reach Us

Department of Political Science
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Rarick Hall 355
Phone: 785-628-4425
Contact Department

Political Science on Facebook Political Science on Twitter Political Science on Instagram Political Science on Linkedin

Chapman Rackaway, Ph.D. - Interim Dean, Graduate School and Professor of Political Science

Chapman Rackaway3


Picken Hall 306
785 628 4236



About Chapman

Dr. Chapman Rackaway, professor of political science, began at FHSU in 2003 after serving as an adjunct professor of political science at Columbia College, Lincoln University, State Fair Community College and the University of Missouri. He also served as chair of the political science department at Linn State Technical College from 1998 to 2001.

Dr. Rackaway serves the FHSU campus on the Faculty Senate and the American Democracy Project. He is faculty advisor to the College Republicans.  Dr. Rackaway is part of the Insight Kansas consortium of Kansas political scientists who write weekly columns on state politics for newspapers syndicated throughout the state.  He is the author of American Government:  Political Culture in an Online World (Kendall-Hunt Publishers).  

Dr. Rackaway was named FHSU President's Distinguished Scholar in 2015 and has been a finalist for the FHSU Pilot Award in 2007, 2013 and 2014 and was a Service Award winner in 2005. More information about Dr. Rackaway can be found at his academia page or on insightkansas.


Ph.D. University of Missouri
M.S. University of Missouri
B.A. Millikin University


American Government
Political Communication
Political Parties
Interest Groups and Lobbying
Political Behavior
Political Campaign Management


Political Parties
Campaigns and Voting Behavior
Civic Participation
Media and Politics

Back to Faculty and Staff  

Back to top