INTRODUCTION
By the authority vested in the Kansas Board of Regents through the provision
of Kansas Statutes 74-3209 - 74-3216, regulations pertaining to the operation and
parking of vehicles are hereby established and set forth.
Students, Faculty, Staff, and Visitors, as well as Foundation Affiliates, are expected
to be familiar with and abide by these regulations. The vehicle operator is responsible
for knowing all applicable laws and regulations.
The Fort Hays State University parking system receives no direct funding from the
State of Kansas; therefore, a system of service charges for all motor vehicles utilizing
University parking facilities is mandatory to maintain those facilities.

 

 I. GENERAL
REQUIREMENTS

Definition of Parking: A stoppage with intent of permitting a vehicle to remain
standing whether occupied or not.
1. With the exception of government owned vehicles with State of Kansas Official,
County, Municipal, or School District tags and Emergency Vehicles, Parking
Permits are required for all motorized vehicles (including MOPEDS) parked on
the main campus during the University term. Times requiring parking permits are
defined within each of the 3 sections and include Zone 1, Zone 2 and Restricted
Parking stalls. A permit does not guarantee the holder a parking space, but only an
opportunity to park within a specified Zone or Restricted Parking Stall.
2. Parking permits are not required for Non-Main campus areas and includes the
Farm, Rodeo Grounds, Pavilion, Sternberg Museum, Foundation/Alumni Center,
FHSU Soccer Stadium and Wetlands Educational Center.
3. Parking permits are not required on University Holidays when the University
is closed or not in session. Restricted parking stalls are enforced.
4. During special events, University Police Department has the authority to close
selected lots and parking stalls to regular permit holders and to collect fees for the
use of parking facilities.
5. A vehicle may be re-ticketed for the same violation if the violation has not been
corrected by the next calendar day or the vehicle has moved to a different location,
within the same date, and committed a separate or similar offense.
6. All parking fines assessed to a vehicle are the responsibility of the FHSU
permit holder.
7. All traffic control signs and devices are in effect 24 hours, 7 days a week,
unless otherwise stated.
8. ZONES & RESTRICTED STALL DEFINITIONS: Parking is controlled by Zones
1 and 2, as defined within Section II -“Parking Permit Definitions” and Restricted Parking
Stalls. Restricted Parking Stall is defined as any parking stall with stenciling and/or signage
that specifically identifies the type of parking stall or lot and time limitations imposed. Refer to
Section II for eligibility.
9. Violations: University Police Department controls parking by enforcing various
parking zones, restricted parking stalls, permit display requirements, improper parking
and administrative violations. Each of which are defined within Section III.

 

 UNIVERSITY LIABILITY
1. The University assumes no duty for the care or protection of vehicles or their
contents while the vehicle is on property owned, leased, or otherwise controlled
by the University.
2. Failure of the University to strictly enforce any parking regulation shall not be
construed as a waiver for the future enforcement of regulations.

 

 AUTHORITY
1. As established by University Policy and current practice, the Parking Committee
will adopt and enforce rules and policies governing the issuance of permits, allocation
of parking space, fees, appeals, and the parking of vehicles upon the roads, streets,
driveways and parking facilities of the institution as granted by Kansas Statute.
2. Parking privileges may be modified or pre-empted by authority of the President
of the University.
3. The Director of the University Police Department may alter, suspend, or modify
parking regulations, fines and/or fees as necessary to promote public safety or enhancement
of the University, subject to review by the V.P. of Administration and Finance.

 

 II. PARKING PERMIT ELIGIBILITY
GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

1. A parking permit for the current period will not be issued if the applicant has
any unpaid parking fines.
2. Permits may be purchased only for use by the purchaser and are non-transferable.
A parking permit will be issued to an INDIVIDUAL, not a vehicle, and grants
the privilege of parking on University property by the permit holder and spouse.
Ownership of the permit remains with the University. Permit holders may register
multiple vehicles owned by the permit holder and other vehicles registered to their
immediate family. It is illegal to give false information on a permit application.
3. Only one hang tag permit per person will be sold.
4. Students required to complete a course at an off-site location (50 miles or
more) may apply for a “shared permit” allowing several non-related students to use
a single permit. Failure to register a “shared permit” and the vehicles associated will
subject the permit holder to fines.

 

 PARKING PERMIT DEFINITIONS/
FEE SCHEDULE

Kansas Board of Regents Parking Permit - Granted permit.
1. Issued by the Kansas Board of Regents.
2. Regent Permit holders may park in any parking areas on campus, except for
handicapped stalls, unless they are also a holder of a handicapped placard.
Faculty/Staff – Granted permit.
1. Any person engaged by FHSU for teaching, extension, research, administration,
service, or any person employed by a business connected with or employed by the
University is eligible.
2. Faculty/Staff permits are valid from August 1 through July 31 and faculty/staff
are required to register each school session with University Police Department and
permit shall be properly displayed during the required times.
3. Faculty/Staff parking permits allow parking in any of the following restricted
parking stalls on campus: Staff, Zone 1, Zone 2, and Handicap, providing a handicap
placard is also displayed.
Zone 1 Permit - $25.00 per academic year or $5.00 summer only.
1. Non-Residential Life Students currently enrolled or pre-enrolled in one or more
academic credit hour of classes through Fort Hays State University are eligible.
2. Students residing in a Residential Life area do not qualify for a Zone 1 parking
permit.
3. Zone 1 includes parking on College Drive, North Campus Drive, South
Campus Drive, Park Street, and Lyman Drive north of the junction with Agnew
Lane between 7:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays.
4. Zone 1 parking permits are required to park in Lots A-1, A-2, D, and N
between 7:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays.
5. Zone 1 parking permits are valid in Zone 2 areas, but not valid in Staff or
other Restricted Stalls.
Zone 2 Permit - $13.00 per academic year or $5.00 summer only.
1. Both Residential and Non-Residential Life Students currently enrolled or
pre-enrolled in one or more academic credit hour of classes through Fort Hays
State University are eligible.
2. Zone 2 permits are not valid in Staff, Zone 1 or Restricted Stalls. Zone 2
permits are valid in Zone 2 areas as herein defined.
3. Zone 2 is herein identified by 5 sub-sections concerning time limitations.
a. Zone 2 includes parking in Lots K, L & M and Elm Street (from Main Street
to Lewis Drive) and Lewis Field dirt lots from 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. on weekdays
and only when school is in session.
b. Zone 2 includes the parking stalls directly in front of the Hays Area Children
Center (HACC) on South Lewis Drive and is controlled from 7:00 a.m. to 6:00
p.m., weekdays.
c. Zone 2 also includes Lots E, G, H1, H2, I and J, and are enforced 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week when school is in session.
d. Zone 2 also includes Lot F2 from 2:30 p.m. to 7:00 a.m., M-F and 24 hours
a day during the weekends.
e. Zone 2 Residential Life Street parking is herein defined and enforced 24 hours
a day, 7 days a week when school is in session.
(1) Lewis Drive, on the West Side from Dwight Drive to the island in front of
the HACC.
(2) Dwight Drive, Custer Drive and Lyman Drive south of Agnew Lane.
(3) Agnew Lane East of Custer Drive and any other marked or unmarked streets
west of, and including, Lewis Drive.
(4) East & West Custer Hall Circle.
Cycle Permit - $10.00 annually. Valid August 1 through July 31.
Motorcycles and mopeds with Cycle or MBYC license plates are required to
display a cycle parking permit and can only park in cycle stalls.
Foundation Permit – Granted permit.
1. Issued with the approval of the traffic office administrator, based upon a written
listing from the Foundation.
2. Foundation permit holder may park in staff, student parking stalls, and
handicap providing a handicap placard is also displayed. Permit can only be used
by the recipient and/or spouse ONLY.
Special Services Permit – Granted permit.
1. Applicant must apply and obtain permit at the University Police
Department.
2. Issued to individuals and/or businesses that frequently provide services to the
University with the approval of the traffic office administrator.
3. Special Services permit holder may park in designated Service and Delivery stalls, Staff,
Zone 1, Zone 2 stalls and handicap providing a handicap placard is also displayed.
Honorary Faculty/Staff Permit – Granted permit.
1. Applicant must apply and obtain permit at the University Police
Department.
2. Issued with the approval of the traffic office administrator based upon
confirmation that the applicant is a retired member of the FHSU Faculty/Staff.
3. Honorary Faculty/Staff permit holder may park in Staff, Zone 1, Zone 2,
Visitors, and handicap providing a handicap placard is also displayed.
Construction Permit – Granted permit.
1. Applicant must apply and obtain permit at the University Police
Department.
2. Issued with the approval of the traffic office administrator based upon the
confirmation that applicant is working on a FHSU construction site.
3. Construction permit holder may park in designated Construction stalls and
at their construction site. Staff, Zone 1 or Zone 2 stalls around their construction
site may be used as overflow parking if necessary.
Temporary Permit – Granted permit.
1. Applicant must apply and obtain permit at the University Police
Department.
2. Issued to current permit holders who are unable to properly display their
original permit for various reasons during a limited time frame.
3. Issued to a person with a temporary disability with written verification from
a doctor.
4. Temporary permit holder may park in the Zone designated by their original
permit or in Zone 1 for those issued due to a temporary disability.
Visitor Permit – Granted permit.
1. Distributed by University Police Department to various University Departments
as a temporary permit for a maximum of 5 days to individuals who are not currently
enrolled or employed at the University and are visiting campus on official business
or visiting campus residents.
2. Departments may obtain and issue “Visitor Permits” by requesting from
University Police Department the number of permits required and the justification
for issuance. The requesting department shall maintain a log of the issued permit,
using the preprinted number assigned to the permit. The log shall include the
name of the person who the permit was issued, the tag number, make of vehicle,
the expiration date of the permit and the name of the person and department who
issued the “Visitor Permit.” Any person or department who fails to adhere to this
issuance requirement will forfeit their ability to issue permits.
3. Visitors parking on campus may park in designated Visitor stalls and Meter
parking stalls without a visitor permit.
4. Visitors parking on campus may park in 15- and 30-Minute, Zone 1 or Zone
2 areas with a visitors permit.
5. Visitors parking on Campus are required to observe the parking rules and
regulations.
6. Visitors receiving 5 or more violations per semester will be subject to tow-off
at the OWNER’S EXPENSE.
Replacement Permits – $5.00
Any lost or stolen permit must be reported to the University Police Department
to relieve the purchaser of any further responsibility.
Refunds: After the first day of classes, a refund for a parking permit will
only be considered by appeal.

 

 III. ENFORCEMENT/VIOLATIONS AND
FINES/PENALTIES/APPEALS
ENFORCEMENT

1. FHSU Police Officers are appointed by the Kansas Board of Regents and
have authority to halt motor vehicles, issue citations for violations, order vehicles
impounded by towing, and enforce traffic regulations.
2. FHSU Police Department reserves the right to employ students to enforce
parking regulations and issue parking violations.

 

 VIOLATIONS AND FINES
Types of Violations: There are five defined violation categories that are associated
with Parking Violations. Each category may have a sub-category defining a specific
violation within the category and are herein defined with the accessed fine. They
include “Zone Violations, Restricted Violations, Improper Permit Display, Improper
Parking and Administrative Violations.”
Citations for zone violations or restricted stalls (excluding handicap or fire hydrant
stalls) will be issued citations beginning the sixth day of classes of each semester.
Violations related to improper parking are subject to immediate citation. The first
parking violation of each semester for a zone violation, lack of permit or restricted
stall (other than handicap or fire hydrant stall) violation is a warning. Subsequent
violations during each semester are subject to fines and /or towing.

 

 ZONE VIOLATIONS (3)
(1.1) Zone 1 Violation: Parked in an unrestricted stall, lot or in a “Compact
Only” stall within Zone 1 without a current and valid Zone 1, Faculty/Staff, Special
Services, Honorary, Foundation, or Visitor parking permit properly displayed during
the times prescribed for that location is a violation. $45.00
(1.2) Zone 2 Violation: Parked in an unrestricted stall or lot within Zone 2
without a current and valid Zone 2, Zone 1, Faculty/Staff, Special Services, Honorary,
Foundation, or Visitor parking permit properly displayed during the times prescribed
for that location is a violation. $45.00
(1.3) Other Zone Violation: Any other act that is deemed a zone violation of a
permit usage. $45.00

 
RESTRICTED STALL VIOLATIONS (24)
(2.1) 15-Minute Time Restriction: Parked in a stall or lot designated as a “15
Min” stall for more than 15 minutes with or without a valid parking permit is a
violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.2) 15-Minute Time Restriction: Hays Area Children Center (HACC): Parked
in a stall designated as a “15 Min” stall in front of HACC from 7:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.,
Monday through Friday, for more than 15 minutes with or without a valid parking
permit, is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.3) 30-Minute Time Restriction: Parked in a stall or lot designated as a “30
Min” stall for more than 30 minutes with or without a valid parking permit is a
violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.4) 2-Hour Visitor Time Restriction: Only individuals who are not currently
enrolled or employed at the University and are visiting campus on official business
or visiting on campus residents may park in the 2-Hour Visitor Parking restricted
stalls. Parked in a stall designated as a “2 Hr Visitor” by painted curb or signage,
for more than 2 hours, is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.5) Cart: Parking in a stall designated as “Cart” by any vehicle other than a
University utility/golf cart is a violation. $15.00
(2.6) Clinic: Parking in a stall designated as “Clinic” by any vehicle not properly
displaying a current and valid Herndon Clinic visitor’s permit from 8:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, is a violation. $15.00
(2.7) Compact: Parking a vehicle in a stall designated as “Compact Only” that a
reasonable person would consider to be blocking the view of pedestrians or motorist
entering the roadway is a violation. Must have valid permit. $15.00
(2.8) Construction: Parking in a stall designated as “Const” by any vehicle other
than a vehicle properly displaying a current and valid construction permit or a
contractor /company logo is a violation. $15.00
(2.9) Cycle: Parked in a stall designated as “Cycle” without a current and valid
Cycle permit properly displayed during the times prescribed for that location is a
violation. $15.00
(2.10) Emergency Vehicle: Parking in a stall, lot, or area designated as
“Emergency Vehicle” by any vehicle not authorized in K.S.A. 8-2010 is a
violation. $75.00
(2.11) Fleet Parking: Parking in a stall or lot designated as “Fleet Parking” by
any vehicle other than FHSU Motor Pool or FHSU Athletic Department vehicles
is a violation. A parking permit is not required. $15.00

 (2.12) Handicapped: Parked in a stall or lot designated as “Handicapped” without
a valid official state issued handicapped or disabilities placard or license plate properly
displayed is a violation (K.S.A. Supp. 8-1125:8-1130). $100.00
(2.13) Meter Time Restriction: Parked in a stall or lot designated as a “Metered”
or one with a parking meter positioned before it, during the times prescribed for that
location, where the time remaining indicates expired or out of time is a violation. No
permit is required to park in a metered stall, and possession or display of a permit
does not negate the requirement to pay the meter. Metered stalls that have the meters
covered will be considered unrestricted stalls and will require the appropriate zone
permits during the times prescribed for that zone (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.14) No Parking – Loading/Unloading: Circle Drive Memorial Union. Parked
in a area designated as “No Parking: Loading/Unloading” and not engaged in loading
or unloading items for that building, is a violation. (K.S.A. 8-1571/KS S.T.O. Sec.
85(a)11; KS S.T.O. Sec. 96; KS S.T.O. Sec. 99). $15.00
(2.15) President: Parking in a stall designated as “President” by a vehicle other
than the president or designee is a violation. $45.00
(2.16) Provost: Parking in a stall designated as “Provost” by a vehicle other than
the provost or designee is a violation. $45.00
(2.17) Res Life: Parked in the yellow curb area in Lot G near the center entrance
to McMindes Hall, or in Lot I directly to the north of Wiest Hall between the times
of 6:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.18) Res Life Time Restriction: Parked in the yellow-marked curb area in Lot
G near the center entrance to McMindes Hall, or in Lot I directly to the north of
Wiest Hall for more than 30 minutes between the times of 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.
is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 97). $15.00
(2.19) Service and Delivery: Parking in a stall designated as “Service/Delivery” by
a vehicle other than a delivery service vehicle, FHSU service/maintenance vehicle,
or a vehicle properly displaying a current and valid Special Service permit, during
the times prescribed for that location is a violation. $15.00
(2.20) Staff: Restricted to a current Faculty/Staff permit properly displayed
between 7:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays (except where otherwise posted),
without a current and valid Faculty/Staff, Special Services, Honorary, or Foundation
parking permit properly displayed during the times prescribed for that location is
a violation. $45.00
(2.21) Staff: An area with signage of “Staff parking only” is a 24-hour Faculty/
Staff parking area in a Restricted Parking Stall or lot without a current and valid
Faculty/Staff, Special Services, Honorary, or Foundation parking permit properly
displayed during the times prescribed for that location is a violation. $45.00
(2.22) Staff: An area with signage of “24-Hour Staff ” is a 24-hour Faculty/Staff
parking area in a Restricted Parking Stall or lot without a current and valid Faculty/
Staff, Special Services, Honorary, or Foundation parking permit properly displayed
during the times prescribed for that location is a violation. $45.00
(2.23) Visitor: Only individuals who are not currently enrolled or employed at
the University and are visiting campus on official business or visiting on campus
residents may park in the Visitor restricted stalls. Parked in a stall or lot designated as
“Visitor” when the operator of the vehicle is enrolled or employed at the University
is a violation. $15.00
(2.24) Other Violations: Any other act that is deemed a restricted parking
violation. $15.00

 

 IMPROPER PERMIT DISPLAY VIOLATIONS (7)
(3.1) Blocked View: Displaying a permit where the view of either side of the
permit is fully or partially blocked by other items hanging within the vehicle, window
tint, or being mutilated or altered in such a way that it is unreadable, or positioned
in such a way that the permit is not fully visible is a violation. Individuals using sun
protectors need to display the permit nearest the windshield. $15.00
(3.2) Multiple Permits: Displaying of more than one permit at a time, including
but not limited to, other FHSU permits, permits from other institutions,
organizations, events, or locations is a violation. This violation does not include
the displaying of a handicapped placard. $15.00
(3.3) Hanging Parking Permit: This style of permit must be displayed from the
interior rear view mirror. When the design of the mirror will not permit display, it
is acceptable to utilize other means (string, rubber band, etc…) to display permit. In
absence of a rearview mirror, taping the permit to the windshield in the approximate
area of the rearview mirror or placing the permit on the dash directly in front of the
driver’s seat where the front of the permit is fully displayed is acceptable. $15.00
(3.4) Cycle Display: Adhesive cycle permits must be displayed by affixing the
sticker the left front fork. $15.00
(3.5) Construction Permit Display: Adhesive construction permits must be
displayed by affixing the sticker to the rear window in the lower left hand corner
(behind the driver). $15.00
(3.6) Honorary Permit Display: Adhesive honorary permits must be displayed
by affixing the sticker to the rear window in the lower left hand corner (behind the
driver). $15.00
(3.7) Other Improper Permit Display: Any other act that is deemed a violation
of a permit display. $15.00

 

 IMPROPER PARKING VIOLATIONS (12)
(4.1) Parked On/Over Lines: Parking a vehicle with any part of the vehicle on
or over the lines of the stall is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 89). $15.00
(4.2) Parallel Parking Stalls/Angled Stalls: Vehicles shall be oriented in parallel
parking spaces and angled parking spaces in a manner consistent with the fl ow of
traffic when leaving. $15.00
(4.3) Curb Stall Parking: Vehicles are prohibited from backing into parking
stalls when there is a curb or parking block or if this action is contrary to the fl ow
of traffic. The front bumper must face the curb or parking block. $15.00
(4.4) Parked Too Far From Curb: Parking a vehicle in a parallel stall where there
is greater than twelve inches distance between the curb and either curb side tire is
a violation (K.S.A. 8-1572 / KS S.T.O. Sec. 86). $15.00
(4.5) Parked Outside a Stall: Parking a vehicle outside the limits of a stall, or
where no stall exists is a violation (KS S.T.O. Sec. 89). $15.00
(4.6) Parked in No Parking: Parked in an area designated as “No Parking” either by
being marked, signed or otherwise indicated, including street curbs without parking
stalls and yellow painted curbs other than those designated as loading/unloading
zones, is a violation. The lack of a “No parking” signs and/or yellow painted curbs
does not imply a legal parking space. (K.S.A. 8-1571/KS S.T.O. Sec. 85; KS S.T.O.
Sec. 96; KS S.T.O. Sec. 99). $15.00
(4.7) Parked Blocking a Crosswalk or Curb Cut: Parking a vehicle so that any
part of the vehicle blocks any part of a pedestrian crosswalk or handicap curb cut
is a violation (K.S.A. 8-1571 / KS S.T.O. Sec. 85(a)4). $15.00
(4.8) Parked on Grass or Sidewalk: Parking a vehicle on any grass or
sidewalk other than when directed to by law enforcement is a violation
(K.S.A. 8-1571). $15.00
(4.9) Parked Blocking Traffic: Parking a vehicle in any manner that blocks
or restricts the safe or normal fl ow of traffic other than when directed to by law
enforcement is a violation (K.S.A. 8-1571). $75.00
(4.10) Parked Blocking Fire Hydrant: Parking a vehicle in an area marked as “No
Parking,” painted yellow, or within 15 feet of a fi re hydrant is a violation (K.S.A.
8-1571). Subject to tow. $75.00
(4.11) Other Improper Parking Violation: Any other university, municipal,
county or state violation not covered that would be deemed an improperly parked
vehicle. $15.00
(4.12) Bicycle Violations: Bicycles shall be parked at and attached to bicycle racks.
Parking or securing bicycles to structures such as handrails, door guards, statues,
pillars, trees, outside seating or other similar items not designed for the parking of
bicycles is prohibited. Parking of bicycles on sidewalks or a vehicle parking stall
is prohibited. Bicycles found to be parked in a prohibited manner are subject to
removal and impoundment at the owner’s expense. A $25.00 release fee shall be
assessed to the owner. $25.00

 

 ADMINISTRATIVE VIOLATIONS (5)
(5.1) Illegal Permit: Use of an illegal, altered, forged, or otherwise unauthorized
parking permit is prohibited and is a violation. $75.00
(5.2) Unauthorized Use: Use of someone else’s permit other than as prescribed
in the parking regulations of Fort Hays State University is prohibited and is a
violation. $75.00
(5.3) Ineligible Permit Holder: Failure to surrender a permit after becoming
otherwise ineligible to possess the permit is prohibited and is a violation. $45.00
(5.4) Illegal Signage: The posting, removing or altering of traffic signage
on the campus without the approval of the University Parking Committee is a
violation. $75.00
(5.5) Other Administrative Violations: Any other act deemed a violation of the
regulations of Fort Hays State University governing parking. $75.00

 

 PAYMENT OF FINES
1. All fines incurred by students are payable on Tiger Tracks or at Student Fiscal
Services located in Picken Hall Room 317. In addition, all reasonable collection costs,
including attorney fees and other charges necessary for collection of any amount
not paid when due, will be charged to the student. A $25.00 administrative fee
is assessed each time a payment due date has been missed until the balance
has been satisfied.
2. All fines incurred by Faculty/Staff are payable at the University Police
Department located in the Center of Public Safety, Custer Hall 112.

 

 OTHER PENALTIES
1. Students-Students having outstanding fees/fines will not be permitted to re-enroll,
drop/add, or receive a transcript or records.
2. Faculty/Staff-Parking Permits must be returned to the University Police
Department and any outstanding fees paid upon termination of employment.
Failure to comply may result in legal action.
3. Any motor vehicle operator who receives five or more violations, with four
carrying fines, will be notified by certified mail to pay fines within 14 days from
the date of the letter. Failure to pay fines within the14 day period will result in his/
her vehicle being towed off campus at the owner’s expense.
4. Vehicles may be removed from campus streets, drives, zones, lawns or parking
areas if allowed to stand in violation of campus regulations or state laws governing
vehicles. The owner of the vehicle will pay tow-off costs.
5. Delinquent accounts may be forwarded to a collection agency and/or the
Set-off program as created in K.S.A. 75-6201.
6. Abandoned property will be sold by University Police Department if not
claimed and removed.

 

 APPEALS
The University Parking Committee shall have immediate jurisdiction over all issues
dealing with campus parking, and shall have the power to assess fines as deemed
necessary. The University Parking Committee is composed of students, faculty and
staff, and is a part of the judiciary branch of the Student Government Association.
Appeals must be made to the Chairman of the University Parking Committee
at www.fhsu.edu/university-police/parking/ or call 785-628-5304, within 14 calendar days of the violation.
After fi ling the written statement, an appellant may also make a personal appearance
before the University Parking Committee.
Failure to appeal within the above time period is considered prima facie evidence
that the violation will not be appealed.

 

 IV. DRIVING REGULATIONS
1. Motor Vehicle Accidents: Any accident involving a vehicle on campus must
be reported to the University Police Department at 785-628-5304 immediately.
Evenings and weekends call the Hays Police Department at 785-625-1011 and they
will contact the FHSU On-Duty Officer.
2. All state driving laws are in effect on campus. Citations issued for moving violations
are processed by the Hays Municipal Court and/or Ellis County District Court.
3. Motorized vehicles driven on the campus must be operated with caution,
compatible with existing weather, pedestrian and vehicle traffic conditions. Speed in
access of 20 m.p.h. on roadways and 15 m.p.h. in parking lots is a moving violation.
Speeds may be checked by radar.
4. Motorized vehicles (except wheelchairs), motor bike, scooters, motorcycles,
or MOPEDS shall not be operated on the grass, sidewalks, or pedestrian walkways
of the campus.
5. Snow Emergency Routes: When so declared by the President of the University
or the designated representative, all campus streets and drives are designated as
snow emergency routes. Vehicles blocking those routes are subject to fines and/
or towing charges.

 

 V. BICYCLES
1. No parking permit is required to park bicycles at on campus bicycle racks.
For security purposes, free bicycle registration cards are available at the University
Police Department Office.
2. Bicycles shall be parked at and attached to bicycle racks.
3. Parking or securing bicycles to structures such as handrails, door guards, statues,
pillars, trees, outside seating or other similar items not designed for the parking of
bicycles is prohibited. Bicycles found to be parked in a prohibited manner are subject
to removal and impoundment at the owner’s expense.
4. Bicycles are not allowed in University academic buildings unless used for
instruction by University Staff.
5. In the event that a bicycle has been impounded for a violation, a $25.00 release
fee shall be assessed to the owner. The release fee will not apply if the bicycle





Back to top