Contact Virtual College

Virtual College

Hammond Hall 201
600 Park Street
Hays, KS 67601
Phone: 785-628-4291
Toll Free: 800-628-FHSU
Fax: 785-628-4037
Request Information

Reading Specialist

The Master’s in Education (MSE) with an emphasis in the reading specialist program is a P-12 teaching program that enhances teachers’ ability to provide corrective reading strategies to students of any grade level.

Prior to beginning the reading specialist program, you will need to be admitted to the Fort Hays State University Graduate School. The application process includes a letter of application, reference letters, official transcripts, and a background check. In addition, the applicant must hold a currently valid professional teaching license. If the applicant already has a master’s degree, then adding the endorsement to a valid teaching license is possible.

After graduation with the MSE degree, applicants must also meet their individual state department of education requirements prior to adding the reading specialist endorsement.

The reading specialist teaching program is fully accredited by the National Council on Accreditation of Teacher Education/Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation and the Kansas State Department of Education.

For additional information contact:
Dr. Kathleen Sanders PhD
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Hays, KS  67601 
Web:  Advanced Education Programs

Back to top