

May 7, 2021

President Mason, Provost Arensdorf: Thank You!

Faculty, Staff, Administration,

It has been a distinct honor and privilege to serve the Faculty Senate as its President. Once again I would like to thank Tony Gabel, Denise Orth, and Carl Miller for their guidance and support during the past two years.

In the spirit of Shared Governance, with Provost Arensdorf and President Mason, the Senate has:

- Approved more than 50 courses (FHSU CORE, new, and significant course changes)
- Passed and supported the Z-Course Program for zero cost course materials
- Supported and participated in the University Strategic Plan processes
- Passed two resolutions pertaining to partnerships in China
 - o FHSU-issued TigerNetID email
 - Addition of Security Questions
- Elected a new Faculty Senate President, Dr. Janet Stramel.
- Elected a new Faculty Senate Secretary, Dr. Shane Schartz
- Elected a new Faculty Senate Vice President, Dr. Rob Byer

The work of the Senate extends far beyond what has been passed or approved. The Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate are continually collaborating, researching, and approving numerous items that provide all faculty the resources and support needed to be successful, ultimately serving the needs of all students. I would like to extend my deepest thanks to those committees and their chairs, Helen Miles, Shane Schartz, Christopher Olds, Kate McGonigal, Cole Engel, and their SGA representatives: Haley Reiter, Katie Modlin, Isaiah Schindler, Anthony Ventura, and Crystal Rojas.

Finally, the Senate works in conjunction with President Mason, Provost Arensdorf, SGA President Haley Reiter, and Staff Senate President Jennifer Whitmer. Thank you for your support.

Most Respectfully,

Kevin L. Splichal, Faculty Senate President