May 6, 2022

President Mason, Provost Arensdorf: Thank You!

Faculty, Staff, Administration,

It has been my distinct honor and privilege to serve as Faculty Senate President this year. And I would specifically like to thank Kevin Splichal for his guidance and support this year.

This has been a very busy year since Fort Hays State University has been the host school for the Kansas Board of Regents. I have attended monthly KBOR meetings, representing FHSU faculty at the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents, and also speaking on behalf of all Faculty Senate Presidents at the six regents institutions.

In the spirit of Shared Governance, with Provost Arensdorf and President Mason, the Senate has:

- Approved more than 75 courses, including new courses, significant course changes, minor course changes, and FHSU CORE courses,
- Supported and participated in the University Strategic Plan process,
- Approved the Faculty Mentor Role Description and the FHSU Faculty Mentoring Guidelines, and
- Passed one resolution:
 - Resolution of Faculty Support for Campus Diversity and Inclusions Initiatives

And at our May 10 meeting, we will vote to support the Virtual Student Senate with two resolutions:

- Faculty Support for Timely Grading on Online Assignments, and
- Faculty Support for the Entering of Midterm Interim Grades for Online Classes.

We elected a new Faculty Senate President, Dr. Rob Byer; elected a new Faculty Senate Secretary, Dr. Ginger Loggins; and elected a new Faculty Senate Vice President, Dr. Elodie Jones.

This year, we also received reports from Dr. Angela Pool-Funai, Dean of the Graduate School; Dr. Sangki Min regarding the NSSE findings; Dr. Brent Goertzen, Tiger Leaders; and a report of the Climate Survey related to Diversity from Dr. Teresa Clounch.

The work of the Senate extends far beyond what has been passed or approved. The Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate are continually collaborating, researching, and approving numerous items that provide all faculty the resources and support needed to be successful, ultimately serving the needs of all students. I would like to extend my deepest thanks to those committees and their chairs; Rob Byer, Justin Greenleaf, Skip Ward, Chris Olds, and Vinod Srivastava.

Finally, the Senate worked in collaboration with President Mason, Provost Arensdorf, SGA President Mark Faber, and Staff Senate President Jennifer Whitmer. Thank you all for your support.

Most Respectfully, Janet Stramel Faculty Senate President