FHSU General Education Committee

Minutes

Meeting Called by

Bradley Will, Chair

Date: Thursday, March 1, 2018

Time: 2:30-3:30

Location: Pioneer Room, Union

Members

Douglas Drabkin (AHSS)

Marcella Marez (AHSS) Jessica Heronemus (BE) David Schmidt (BE) Kevin Splichal (Ed) Teresa Woods (Ed) Trey Hill (HBS) Glen McNeil (HBS) William Weber (STM) Tom Schafer (STM) Robyn Hartman (Lib) Helen Miles (Senate) Adam Schibi (SGA) Cheryl Duffy (Goss Engl) Kenton Russell (FYE) Karmen Porter (Grad Sch) Paul Lucas (nonvoting member)

- 2:32 (1 minute) All members were present with the exception of Lucas, Marez, McNeil, Miles, Splichal, and Woods. McNeil was serving as proxy for Miles. Determined that a quorum was met.
- 2:33 (3 minutes) Chair announced that stakeholder surveys for the draft learning outcomes have been sent out for information literacy (1.4), critical thinking (1.5), the historical mode of inquiry (2.1), and the natural scientific mode of inquiry (2.1). Drabkin expressed concern that the introductory email letter had the effect of making the survey appear more like an academic research study than an appeal from colleagues for feedback on an important in-house curriculum project. Duffy's eyes lit up at mention of the importance of rhetoric, but the committee chose not to pursue the matter.
- 2:36 (28 minutes) Schmidt presented a set of three measurable learning outcomes for the **technological mode of inquiry**. They were modified in discussion, and the following wording was put to a vote:

The student will

- 1. identify characteristics of a problem that is solvable by the Technological Design Process;
- 2. design a reliable and efficient solution to the problem;
- build a workable model of the designed solution;

- 4. evaluate the solution to identify measurable improvements.
- 3:04 (6 minutes) Sub-groups of the committee were set up to draft measurable learning outcomes for objective 2.2, *integrative and cross-disciplinary thinking* ("students will make connections among ideas and experiences, synthesizing and transferring learning from different disciplines"): Chair, Hartman, Heronemus, and McNeil; and for objective 2.3, *synthesis with the major* ("students will make connections between the specialized knowledge and skills of their major and other fields of study"): Drabkin, Heronemus, and Hill.
- 3:10 (9 minutes) The committee turned next to setting up the working group for determining measurable learning outcomes for objective 3.2, *intercultural competence* ("students will understand their own and others' cultures and possess skills necessary to engage constructively with people across a range of races, ethnicities, genders, identities, abilities, histories, religions, traditions, and languages"). Porter (communication sciences and disorders) will serve as lead, and stakeholders will include: Keith Bremer (geosciences), Tim Davis (social work), Carol Ellis (communication sciences and disorders), Babu George (college of business and entrepreneurship), Amanda Fields (english), Jason Harper (english), Chris Jochum (teacher education), Jennifer Kitson (psychology), Kate McGonigal (sociology), Candace Mehaffey-Kultgen (management), Chris Mohn (modern languages), Gene Rice (philosophy), Scott Robson (communications), and Brett Whitaker (leadership).
- 3:19 (5 minutes) The committee's last item of business was setting up the working group for determining measurable learning outcomes for objective 3.1, *personal and professional efficacy* ("students will understand the consequences of choices in their personal and professional lives and possess knowledge necessary for the management of health, time, money, natural resources, and human relationships"). Heronemus (college of business and entrepreneurship) and McNeil (college of health and behavioral sciences) will jointly serve as lead, and stakeholders will include: Lexey Bartlett (english), Amanda Buday (sociology), Grady Dixon (geosciences), Elmer Finck (biology), Tony Gabel (management), Justin Greenleaf (leadership), Patti Griffin (academic advising), Ron Haag (health and human performance), Leo Herrman (psychology), Tom Johansen (economics, finance, and accounting), Kenton Russell (freshman seminar), Steve Sedbrook (health and human performance), Tanya Smith (nursing), April Terry (criminal justice), and Anita Walters (health and human performance).

3:24	Meeting ended.	The committee's next meeting will be Thursday, March 8 at 2:30 PM in the Smoky Hill Roor	n of
the Memorial Union.			

Submitted by D. Drabkin, Recording Secretary

