FHSU launches new academic year under new president with Fall Convocation Aug. 14

President Mirta M. Martin will begin her first academic year at Fort Hays State University with her first State of the University address at the annual Fall Convocation, Thursday, Aug. 14, in Sheridan Hall's Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center.

Interim Provost Chris Crawford will begin the proceedings at 9 a.m. with a welcome to the faculty, staff and students in attendance. Faculty Senate President Eric Deyo, assistant professor of physics, will also deliver welcoming remarks, and then Crawford, Vice President for Student Affairs Tisa Mason and Vice President for Administration and Finance Mike Barnett will introduce new faculty and staff.

President Martin's address is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m., followed by the presentation of awards, including the university's highest honor, the President's Distinguished Scholar Award.

The award presentation will also introduce the Faculty Member of the Year, the Edmund Shearer Advisor of the Year, the Internationalization of the Campus and Curriculum Award winner, the Heinrichs Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor, and the Virtual College Adjunct of the Year.

University Police Director Ed Howell will follow the awards presentation with a presentation on campus safety, and Crawford will speak on academic affairs initiatives.

A reception in the Dreiling Lobby will follow, and booths will be available for faculty and staff to pay various dues, buy tickets and purchase FHSU items. The booths include the American Association of University Professors, Athletic Department season tickets, Chartwell's Flexi-Cash program, season tickets for Encore, Tiger Gold on Friday shirts, season tickets for Music and Theatre events, and passes to the Sternberg Museum of Natural History.

Media are invited to cover the event.

Back to top