Seven students, five faculty and staff selected as outstanding 'Men of Merit'

05/06/15 lar
Twelve men on the Fort Hays State University campus were named as 2015's "Men of Merit." A reception in their honor was held on Tuesday, April 28.

Notifications are sent out campus-wide for staff and faculty to nominate staff, faculty and students who meet the following criteria: breaking gender stereotypes, taking action, leading by example and outstanding contributions.

A committee headed by Amber White, coordinator of diversity affairs, reviews the nominations and conducts interviews. From there, 12 are chosen.

This year's recipients:
• Luke Abbott, Great Bend senior majoring in mathematics.
• Brett Bruner, director or persistence and retention, Office of Student Affairs.
• Dr. Chris Crawford, professor of leadership studies and interim provost.
• Ulises Gonzalez, Dora, N.M., junior majoring in management.
• Baron Green, Oberlin sophomore majoring in justice studies.
• Dr. Darrell Hamlin, assistant professor of justice studies.
• Seth Kastle, instructor of leadership studies.
• Craig Karlin, director of student financial assistance and interim registrar.
• Cameron Rohleder, Hays senior majoring in physics.
• Brandon Taylor, Colby senior majoring in management.
• Manny Ultreras III, Dodge City senior majoring in justice studies.
• Tanner Younie, Hays senior majoring in political science.

For more information, contact White at 785-628-4661.

Back to top