2016's Phenomenal Women Award winners are announced

Phenomenal Women 2016

04/04/16 sry
HAYS, Kan. -- Twelve women were honored at an annual awards ceremony recently as Fort Hays State University's Phenomenal Women.

Nominees must demonstrate positive womanhood through breaking gender stereotypes, taking action and leading by example while making outstanding contributions to the community.

A committee reviews the nominations and selects the winners.

This year's honorees are:
Lizette Avalos, Liberal senior majoring in organizational leadership.
Lydia Bender, Topeka junior majoring in physics.
Dr. Lorie Cook-Benjamin, associate professor of teacher education.
Stephany Gress, Topeka senior majoring in political science.
Dr. Melissa Hunsicker-Walburn, chair and assistant professor of informatics.
Marcella Marez, instructor of communication studies.
Leslie Paige, coordinator, Office of Scholarship and Sponsored Projects.
Lucille Partlow-Loyall, Colorado Springs, Colo., sophomore majoring in social work.
Rebecca Peterson, director, student residential life.
Alexandra Shaw, assistant director of student services, Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.
Yuchen Wang, Xi'an, China, graduate M.S. in communication.
Tomme Williams, instructor of music and theater.

Back to top