FHSU faculty receive tenure, promotion; retiring faculty, staff also honored

05/04/16 kb
HAYS, Kan. -- Two ceremonies, one to honor faculty who have been tenured, promoted or both by Fort Hays State University, and another to honor retiring faculty and staff, are planned for the Black and Gold Room in Fort Hays State University's Memorial Union on Friday, May 6.

The tenure and promotion recognition will begin at 2:30 p.m.

Seven faculty members were granted tenure and promoted to the listed academic rank.
Dr. Hendratta Ali, associate professor of geosciences.
Dr. Ivalah Allen, associate professor of music and theatre.
Dr. Timothy Rolls, associate professor of music and theatre.
Dr. Craig Smith, associate professor of agriculture.
Dr. Jeffery Solheim, associate professor of computer science and information systems engineering.
Dr. Janet Stramel, associate professor of teacher education.
Dr. Hsin-Yen Yang, associate professor of communication studies.

Two faculty members were granted tenure:
Dr. Paul Nienkamp, assistant professor of history.
Dr. David Tostenson, assistant professor of philosophy.

Dr. Christine Hober, chair of the Department of Nursing, was promoted to professor.

The retirement ceremony will begin at 3:30 p.m. Faculty and staff retiring during this current academic year will be recognized:

Janice Basgall, Forsyth Library.
Barbara Bieker, Business Office.
Tim Chapman, FHSU Foundation.
Randy Collins, Kansas Wetlands Education Center.
Connie Ernst, Department of Advanced Education Programs.
Dr. Dorothy Fulton, Advanced Education Programs.
David Giebler, Department of Chemistry.
Dr. Jean Gleichsner, Department of Agriculture.
Dr. John Greathouse, Department of Agriculture.
Paulette Harp, Residential Life.
Gary Hoffman, Department of Informatics.
Dr. James Hohman, Department of Chemistry.
Dorothy Klaus, FHSU Foundation.
Sharolyn Legleiter, Forsyth Library.
Terry Leiker, Business Office.
Dr. Robert Meier, Department of Informatics.
Gloria Mlinek, College of Business and Entrepreneurship.
Ron Newman, Kansas Small Business Development Center Regional Center.
Dr. Carl Parker, Department of Economics, Finance and Accounting.
Catherine Reeves, Office of the Registrar.
Darlene Schippers, Business Office.
Dr. Robert Stephenson, Department of Agriculture.
Kent Steward, University Relations and Marketing.
Dr. Rory Terry, Department of Economics, Finance and Accounting.
Rhonda Tutak, Memorial Union.
Rosalie Weber, Custodial Services.
Dr. Regi Wieland, Department of Advanced Education Programs.
Beverly Wilkens, Department of Teacher Education.
Joseph Yanda, Custodial Services.

Back to top