VIRTUAL STUDENT SENATE

MEETING MINUTES

1. Call to order (Waring) 🔽

2. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum 🔽

SEPTEMBER 26, 2021

Attendance:

Connor Aycock, Stephen Hill, Edwin Escobar, Alex

Protzman, Brian Fennessy, Brennan Jarnes, Gina Woods, Louis Arnett, Brylie Jarnes,

Esmeralda Ibarra

Absent: Erica Hunchinson, Sabrina Peavy

3. Guest Speaker (None) Ryan Stanley (SGA President) 🗸

Contact Information: rwstanley.se@fhsu.edu

Tuition Costs will increase.

Questions:

Chair Waring: Amount of increase?

President Stanley: Unknown

Secretary Fennessy: Will grad students see tuition increase?

President Stanley: Unknown

for more information or questions email President Stanely:

rwstanley.se@fhsu.edu

- 4. Executive Reports
 - a. SGA President Ryan Stanley
 - b. Temporary VSS Chair Waring
 - c. VSS Secretary Fennessy
 - d. VSS Public Relations McDonough (Resigned)
 - e. FHSU Interim Liaison Kelly Meyer

Nicole Heitmann to be taking on the role of Academic Advisor for VSS.

Contact Information

Assistant Director, Online Student Success

Nicole (Nikki) Heitmann

Email: nlheitmann@fhsu.edu

5. Committee Reports (TBD)

VIRTUAL STUDENT SENATE

Senator Escobar - Recognizes previous VSS Session accomplishments -

Timely Grading Policy

Student Announcements (Separate announcements for On-Campus and Online Students)

President Stanley: Registered students this fall 2022 is about 14,000 taking at least 1 credit

- 6. Open Forum 🔽
 - a. Introductions: Please take about 30 seconds to introduce yourself. Share as you feel comfortable, perhaps by telling us about your FHSU standing/major, where you live and who you share your life with. Hobbies, and profession. (I'll start, then recognize Fennessy, McDonough (redact), and Escobar before new Senators) Introductions provided by:

Connor Aycock

Edwin Escobar

Gina Woods

Esmeralda Ibarra (Esme)

Alex Protzman

Stephen Hill

Louis Arnett

Brennan Jarnes

Brylie Jarnes

- b. VSS Guiding documents (Fennessy) 🔽
 - i. General Bylaws
 - Proposed Bylaws 2021-2022
- c. Committee Formation/Placement (Waring)

4 Committees, placement of committees to be determined...

Vice President (Nominations: Edwin Escobar [by Gina Woods: Accepted],

Brennan Jarnes [by Brylie Jarnes: Accepted]

vote: Motion to Vote (Brylie Jarnes)2nd recognized;)

(Brennan Jarnes: 3 | Edwin Escobar: 6)

VIRTUAL STUDENT SENATE

Student Relations

Gina Woods

Edwin Escobar (Voted Vice President of VSS)

Brylie Jarnes

Julie Waring

Brennan Jarnes

Diversity and Inclusion

Connor Aycock

Brennan Jarnes (Recused)

Esmeralda Ibarra (Temporary Chair)

Louis Arnett (Recused)

Senate Affairs

Brennan Jarnes (Temporary Chair)

Alex Protzman

Brian Fennessy

Virtual Channel

Brian Fennessy (Temporary Chair)

Stephen Hill

Louis Arnett

Public Relations Officer (nomination by Gina Woods for Brennan Jarnes)

Votes: 8 (Brennan Jarnes accepted nomination)

- New Business: Filling VP Officer Vacancy
 All senators have accepted (i.e., pledged) to VSS
- 8. Old Business 🗸
- 9. Announcements
- 10. Adjourn @5:59PM CST Meeting was approved to adjourn