How to Reach Us

Department of Social Work
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Albertson Hall 103
Phone: 785-628-4755
Contact Us

Bachelor of Social Work Liberal Cohort

The Department of Social Work has partnered with Seward County Community College (SCCC) to develop a 2+2 outreach program for students in the Liberal, Kansas area who wish to complete their social work degree from FHSU. Students may continue their degree by taking FHSU courses at SCCC taught by FHSU adjunct faculty members. Tim Davis coordinates the cohort program and is the academic adviser for all cohort students. Classes are one evening a week from 6:00-9:00 PM on the Seward County Community College campus.

Applying to the Program

Individuals wanting to complete a social work degree will initially be considered pre-social work majors. Every pre-social work major must work with a faculty advisor in social work prior to applying for the program. Pre-social work majors must have completed 60 credit hours of coursework, including SOCW 260 Introduction to Social Work and be enrolled in SOCW 380 Generalist Practice: Introduction to Practice, before making formal application to the program. Students must earn a grade of "C" or better in each social work course, a 2.75 or better grade point average (GPA) in the major, and an overall cumulative GPA of at least 2.50. 

The Council on Social Work Education accredits the Social Work Program at Fort Hays State University at the undergraduate level. In accord with the Council on Social Work Education's evaluative standards, the Social Work Program does not grant academic credit for life experience or previous work experience. BSW Assessment of Learning Outcomes 2015.


Liberal Cohort Student Resources

Transfer Articulation Information 

2+3 Transfer Guide

Cohort Program Schedule Spring 2018-December 2020

Seward County Community College Resources (classroom, library, etc)

Back to top