Tree Campus USA

Chair: Robert Duffy

Description:

FHSU's Campus Tree Advisory Committee, comprised of campus and community members, works to meet the five standards required for the designation: Maintain a Tree Advisory Committee; create and adhere to a tree care plan; dedicate annual expenditures for its campus tree program; observe Arbor Day; and sponsor a student service-learning project. The designation shows that FHSU cares about the environment and encourages sustainability and conservation efforts. FHSU has been a Tree Campus USA for 7 years and the only university in western Kansas with the designation.

Key (Academic Year) Accomplishments

- Planned and held a Spring 2023 Arbor Day Celebration on the pathway directly between the Union and Picken Hall. Planted a Heritage Oak, and remarks were made by Jeff Boyle, Mayor Mason Ruder, and Robert Duffy. Dr Mason attended.
- Plans to increase participation are underway, as this was a transitional year with Dr Clounch leaving FHSU.
- Successfully renewed our status as Tree Campus USA designee

Committee Members:

Isabella "Bella" Artman, SGA Senator
Donna Augustine, FHSU
Staff Jeff Boyle, Director of Parks, City of Hays
Trevor Deets, FHSU Staff
Holly Dickman, Hays Water Conservation Specialist
Jeremy Gill, Hays Public Library
Morgan Noland, FHSU Faculty
Carley Norton, FHSU Student
Ally Reynolds, FHSU Staff
Jami Seirer, NW Kansas District Forester
Jayden Siebert, SGA Community Relations Director
Jim Strine, Retired Forester
Ethan Thornbro, FHSU Student