Gateway Committee

Chair: Hannah Hearld

Description: NCKTC students located on the NCK-Tech Hays campus have access to services, programs and activities, and opportunities through Fort Hays State University (FHSU). The Gateway Program gives NCKTC students the opportunity to engage in a variety of services. Some services are free, and others have a student rate fee to access. Information about services and opportunities are shared with NCKTC students through FHSU/NCK-Tech Gateway Outreaches, via email, NCK-Tech's student announcements, and new student orientation. Once a month, FHSU staff visits all NCK-Techs programs to share upcoming programs and services, through our Gateway Outreach initiative.

Key 2022-2023 Accomplishments

- Reestablished the "Gateway Wednesdays", tabling initiative after being suspended due to COVID-19. The committee examined the previous outcomes of Gateway Wednesdays and concluded that FHSU staff could maximize their engagement with NCKTC students in a different way.
 - The committee decided to have FHSU staff go to the NCK-Tech campus through "FHSU/NCK-Tech Gateway Outreaches". The outreaches consisted of various departments involved with the committee visiting all the NCK-Tech's programs and engaging with the NCKTC students during program class time.
- For the first time, NCK-Tech hosted their Fall 2022 new student orientation on the FHSU campus.
 - NCKTC students toured the Fischli-Wills Center for Student Success and participated in the Back-to-School Picnic.
 - Plan to host the Fall 2023 new student orientation on the FHSU campus.
- Invited the FHSU Forsyth Library to a regular committee meeting to learn about how NCKTC students can utilize the library services.
 - Forsyth Library provided a library orientation to NCKTC Nursing students during the Spring 2023 semester. 33 nursing students participated.
- NCK-Tech brought students from the Business Management Program to participate in the Small Business Market that was hosted on the FHSU quad by Student Engagement on, Thursday, April 20, 2023.

Committee Members:

Jordan Barrett, FHSU Staff Shane Britt, NCK-Tech Staff Matt Cook, FHSU Staff Emily Dougherty, FHSU Staff Cory Elsen, FHSU Staff Anthony Fox, FHSU Staff Hannah Hearld, FHSU Staff Daniel Hill, NCK-Tech Staff Dane Lonnon, FHSU Staff Lisa Karlin, FHSU Staff Edie McCracken, FHSU Staff Brett Meyer, FHSU Staff RJ Schnack, FHSU Staff Gina Smith, FHSU Staff Jennifer Thornton, FHSU Staff Isaac Wilson, FHSU Staff