Student Affairs Student Employee Think Tank Committee

Chair: Karen McCullough

Description: To develop a division-wide program to positively impact and measure student learning through oncampus student employment within the division of student affairs. Program aspects include identification of relevant division-wide learning outcomes for student employees, identification of the appropriate assessment approach, design of a unified process, and development of a training program for departments.

Key (Academic Year) Accomplishments

• Implemented a Division of Student Affairs Student Employee of the Month award.

Recipients include:

September: Courtney Jones, Financial Aid October: Stephany Rother, Retention

November: Jessica Luedders, Student Affairs & FHSU Online

December: Rylee Zeller, Financial Aid January: Meghan Anderson, Career Services February: Kendyl Henning, Financial Aid

March: Zoe Caldwell, Scholarships & Financial Aid

April: no winner

Grand Prize Winner: Zoe Caldwell

- Advertised open student employment opportunities at summer orientation programs, the Parttime Job Fair, and UNIV 101 presentations
- Provided t-shirts and welcome gifts to new student employees in the division. Also designed and distributed appreciation gifts to offices to distribute to students as thank you gifts
- Created a Student Affairs Student Employment teams group to share student employee expectations, position descriptions, and division-wide student employee information. Used this as a platform tool to advertise open positions and ask for assistance in providing student support to cover offices or events
- Designed and submitted a student employee pay proposal to SALT recommending a slight initial pay increase for all student employees and creating a tiered retention bonus for student employees retained from year to year in their current division of student affairs employment role

**The Student Employee Think Tank committee would like to thank SALT and the SA Mini-Action planning process for providing financial support for the swag for student employee of the month recipients and for the FHSU gear and appreciation treats for new and returning student employees.

Committee Members:

Tonya Bickle, Dave Bolling, Shianne Cokely, Kathleen Cook, Stephanie Dinges, Chris Gist, Deleon Stephen, Bryn Hafliger, Craig Karlin, Dennis King, Taylor Kriley, Edie McCracken, Ann Noble, RJ Schnack, Carol Solko-Olliff, Jon Armstrong, Kayla Hickel, Jessie Albin