Faculty and Staff

The faculty of the Communication Studies Department consists of more than 13 full- and part-time members, each having extensive background in specific areas. The Department has advisors who specialize in public relations, advertising, organizational communication, journalism, and general communication.

Scott Robson
Scott Robson

Department Chair

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Kansas, 2006
M.A., University of Arkansas - Little Rock, 2001
B.S., University of Arkansas - Little Rock, 1999
Malloy Hall 102 • 785-628-5365
sjrobson@fhsu.edu

Gordon S. Carlson
No Photo Available

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2012
M.A., Oregon State University, 2005
B.S., Oregon State University, 2004
Malloy Hall 203 * 785-628-5876
gscarlson@fhsu.edu

Connie S. Eigenmann
Connie Eigenmann

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1995
M.A., Eastern Illinois University, 1992
B.A., Eastern Illinois University, 1991
Malloy Hall 205 • 785-628-5425
cseigenmannmalik@fhsu.edu

Patti Griffin
Patty Griffin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Kansas State University, 1996
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 1991
B.A., Fort Hays State University, 1987
Picken Hall 311B • 785-628-5577
pgriffin@fhsu.edu

Carrol Haggard
Carrol Haggard

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
M.A., Texas Tech
B.B.A., Texas Tech
Malloy Hall 104 • 785-628-4685
chaggard@fhsu.edu

Linn Ann Huntington
Linn Ann Huntington

Professor
Director of Journalism
M.A., University of Oklahoma
B.A., University of Oklahoma
Malloy Hall 105 • 785-628-4018
lhunting@fhsu.edu

Katherine (Kathy) M. Kelley
No Photo Available

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2011
M.A., Pepperdine University, 2002
B.A., University of Oklahoma, 2000
Malloy Hall 207
785-628-4284
kmkelley3@fhsu.edu

Marcella Marez
Marcella Marez

Instructor, Basic Course Coordinator
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 2002
B.A., Fort Hays State University, 1999
Malloy Hall 201A • 785-628-4337
mmarez@fhsu.edu

Jennie Straight
No Photo Available

Instructor
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 1992
B.A., Fort Hays State University,
Malloy Hall 202 * 785-628-4448
jlstraight@fhsu.edu

Hsin-Yen Yang
Hsin-Yen Yang, assistant professor of communication

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 2010
M.A., Emerson College, 2002
B.A., National Taiwan University, 1996
Malloy Hall 206 • 785-628-4386
hsin-yen-yang@fhsu.edu

Kathy Meier
Kathy Meier

Senior Administrative Assistant
B.S., Fort Hays State University, 1978
Malloy Hall 101 • 785-628-5365
kmeier@fhsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Amanda Fairbanks
Rebecca Kiser
Diane Mason 
Sue Strohkirch, Ph.D.

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Malloy Hall 201  |  785-628-5974
John (Dance) Adams
Juan Ren (Alice)
Zhengyu Zhang (Tracy)

Student Employees

Haley Sosa
Ziqi Zuang (Nina)

Many Communication Studies Department Faculty are members of the Kansas Speech Communication Association.