Faculty and Staff

The faculty of the Communication Studies Department consists of more than 13 full- and part-time members, each having extensive background in specific areas. The Department has advisors who specialize in public relations, advertising, organizational communication, journalism, and general communication.

Scott Robson
Scott Robson

Department Chair

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Kansas, 2006
M.A., University of Arkansas - Little Rock, 2001
B.S., University of Arkansas - Little Rock, 1999
Malloy Hall 102 • 785-628-5365
sjrobson@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Scott Robson

Gordon S. Carlson
Gordon S. Carlson, PhD

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012
M.A., Oregon State University, 2005
B.S., Oregon State University, 2004
Malloy Hall 203 * 785-628-5876
gscarlson@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Gordon Carlson

Connie S. Eigenmann
Connie Eigenmann

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 1995
M.A., Eastern Illinois University, 1992
B.A., Eastern Illinois University, 1991
Malloy Hall 205 • 785-628-5425
cseigenmann@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Connie Eigenmann

Patti Griffin
Patty Griffin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Kansas State University, 1996
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 1991
B.A., Fort Hays State University, 1987
Picken Hall 311B • 785-628-5577
pgriffin@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Patti Griffin

Carrol Haggard
Carrol Haggard

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
M.A., Texas Tech
B.B.A., Texas Tech
Malloy Hall 104 • 785-628-4685
chaggard@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Carrol Haggard

Linn Ann Huntington
Linn Ann Huntington

Professor
Director of Journalism
M.A., University of Oklahoma
B.A., University of Oklahoma
Malloy Hall 105 • 785-628-4018
lhunting@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Linn Ann Huntington

Katherine (Kathy) M. Kelley
Katherine (Kathy) M. Kelley, PhD

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2011
M.A., Pepperdine University, 2002
B.A., University of Oklahoma, 2000
Malloy Hall 207
785-628-4284
kmkelley3@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Kathy Kelley

Marcella Marez
Marcella Marez

Instructor, Basic Course Coordinator
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 2002
B.A., Fort Hays State University, 1999
Malloy Hall 201A • 785-628-4337
mmarez@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Marcella Marez

Jennie Straight
Jennie Straight

Instructor
M.S., Fort Hays State University, 1992
B.A., Fort Hays State University,
Malloy Hall 202 * 785-628-4448
jlstraight@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Jennie Straight

Hsin-Yen Yang
Hsin-Yen Yang, assistant professor of communication

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa, 2010
M.A., Emerson College, 2002
B.A., National Taiwan University, 1996
Malloy Hall 206 • 785-628-4386
hsin-yen-yang@fhsu.edu

quickinfo View QuickInfo for Hsin-Yen Yang

Kathy Meier
Kathy Meier

Administrative Assistant
B.S., Fort Hays State University, 1978
Malloy Hall 101 • 785-628-5365
kmeier@fhsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

John (Dance) Adams
Amanda Fairbanks
Rebecca Kiser
Diane Mason 
Sue Strohkirch, Ph.D.

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Malloy Hall 201  |  785-628-5974
Jura Ji
Alex McMillian
Wen Xin
Jane Zhou

Student Employees

Haley Sosa

Many Communication Studies Department Faculty are members of the Kansas Speech Communication Association.

Back to top