Second FHSU presidential candidate to be introduced on Thursday


The second of five candidates selected as presidential finalists for Fort Hays State University will visit Hays and meet with campus and community groups on Thursday and Friday, March 27-28.

The second finalist, Dr. Mirta M. Martin, who will be accompanied by her husband, John N. Martin Jr., currently serves as dean of the Reginald F. Lewis School of Business at Virginia State University.

Since 2009, Dr. Martin has been responsible for strategic and administrative oversight of the Lewis School. She is a professor of management and a member of the president's cabinet. Prior to her current appointment, Dr. Martin served as special assistant to the chancellor of the Virginia Community College System (2009), was executive vice president at John Tyler Community College and executive director of John Tyler Community College Foundation, Chester, Va. (2005-2009), and served as associate dean of the Robins School of Business at the University of Richmond, Richmond, Va. (2000-2003), among other positions.

Born in Havana, Cuba, she now resides in Richmond, Va. She received her Ph.D. from Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, a Master of Business Administration from the University of Richmond, and a Bachelor of Science from Duke University, Durham, N.C. In 2009, Dr. Martin was appointed to serve on the Virginia Council on Women; in 2010 she was appointed to serve on Virginia's Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment; and in 2011 she was appointed as a member of the State Board for Virginia's Community Colleges. She received the 2013 Metropolitan Business League Humanitarian Award for Educational Excellence, was a 2012 alumni inductee in the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, and in 2009 was acknowledged as the first female Hispanic dean in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

The community is invited and encouraged to meet the candidate for a reception at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, March 27, in the Fort Hays Ballroom of the Memorial Union (700 College Drive) on the FHSU campus.

FHSU President Edward H. Hammond announced his retirement effective June 30, 2014, after serving the university since 1987. Shortly thereafter, the Kansas Board of Regents initiated the search process by selecting Denis Miller, Phillipsburg, chair of the FHSU Foundation Board of Trustees, to chair the Presidential Search Committee. In December, the Regents selected the members of the search committee, comprising 19 individuals representing FHSU constituencies, such as faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni, the Hays community and the Board of Regents.

"We are pleased with the number of outstanding candidates that have applied for the presidency at Fort Hays State University," said Miller, "and we look forward to continuing the process that will lead to selection of a new president."

The dates for the other three presidential finalists' visits are as follows: April 1-2, April 7-8 and April 10-11. Details will be forthcoming.

For more information about the FHSU Presidential Search process, visit:

The Search Committee will submit to the Board of Regents its candidate recommendations at the conclusion of the campus interviews. The Board anticipates naming the next Fort Hays State University president in late April.

Back to top