FHSU student writers receive honors

05/09/16 lds
HAYS, Kan. -- Six Fort Hays State University student writers received honors at this year's 10th annual Writing Tigers ceremony.

English Composition 102 research essay student winners are listed by hometown with monetary awards, placements and titles of the essays.

Derby (67037): Carla Miller won a $100 first-place award for her essay "Vaccination: A Parent's Obligation."

Topeka (66605): Mackinzie Foster won a $50 award for her third-place finish on her essay "The Underrepresentation of Women in STEM Fields."

Shattuck, Okla. (73843): Brianna Witchey won a $75 second-place award for her essay "Demons and Victims: Why Suicide Should Not Have a Stigma."

Composition 101 essay student winners:

Hays (67601): Rachel Moravek won a $100 first-place award for her essay "On the Horizon."
Alexis Wasinger won a $50 third-place award for her essay "Positive Not Perfect: The Evaluation of a Learning Space."

Salina (67401): Michael Stueve won a $75 award for a second-place finish on his essay "Mallard's Rebirth."

Dr. Cheryl Duffy, professor of English and chair of the Writing Tigers event, presented certificates. The essays were written during fall 2015 or spring 2016 semesters.

Following the awards ceremony, the Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society hosted an open mic session with students and faculty reading and performing their original work.

Sponsored by the Department of English with support from the Becky P. and Mike Goss Distinguished Professor of Excellence in Teaching, Writing Tigers was held in conjunction with the annual John Heinrichs Scholarly and Creative Activities Day.

Back to top