How to Reach Us

Department of Chemistry
Fort Hays State University
Tomanek Hall 341
Phone: 785-628-5321
FAX: (785) 628-4088 

Dr. Arvin Cruz, Chair
ajcruz2@fhsu.edu 

Ms. Anne Basgall, Sr Administrative Assistant
abasgall@fhsu.edu

Faculty and Staff

Arvin J.F. Cruz, PhD, Wichita State University
Picture of Arvin J.F. Cruz, PhD, Wichita State University

Chair and Associate Professor of Chemistry - Physical Inorganic Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 341B
Phone: (785) 628-5322
Fax: (785) 628-4088
ajcruz2@fhsu.edu

Anne Basgall
Picture of Anne Basgall

Administrative Assistant for Department of Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 341
Phone: (785) 628-5321
Fax: (785) 628-4088
abasgall@fhsu.edu

Bruce Atwater, PhD, Indiana University
Picture of Bruce Atwater, PhD, Indiana University

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Organic Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 347 
Phone: 785-628-4504
Fax: 785-628-4088
b_atwater@fhsu.edu

James R. Balthazor, PhD, Kansas State University
Picture of James R. Balthazor, PhD, Kansas State University

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Biochemistry & Molecular Biophysics
Tomanek Hall 322 
Phone: 785-628-4638
Fax: 785-628-4088
jrbalthazor@fhsu.edu

Krisztina Z. Bencze, PhD, University of Szeged
Picture of Krisztina Z. Bencze, PhD, University of Szeged

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Biochemistry
Tomanek Hall 333
Phone: (785) 628-5386
Fax: (785) 628-4088
kzbencze@fhsu.edu

Krysten Brake
Picture of Krysten Brake

Storekeeper for Department of Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 324
Phone: (785) 628-5962
Fax: (785) 628-4088
knbrake@fhsu.edu

Stephen Donnelly, PhD, University of Rochester
Picture of Stephen Donnelly, PhD, University of Rochester

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Physical Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 337
Phone: (785) 628-4506
Fax: (785) 628-4088
sdonnell@fhsu.edu

Loretta T. Dorn, PhD, Brandeis University
Picture of Loretta T. Dorn, PhD, Brandeis University

Associate Professor of Chemistry - Organic Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 355 
Phone: (785) 628-4032 
Fax: (785) 628-4088
ldorn@fhsu.edu

Edwin G. Olmstead, PhD, Duke University
Picture of Edwin G. Olmstead, PhD, Duke University

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Analytical & Inorganic Chemistry
Tomanek Hall 353
Phone: (785) 628-4507
Fax: (785) 628-4088
egolmstead@fhsu.edu

Alan Szeto, EdD, Columbia University
Picture of Alan Szeto, EdD, Columbia University

Assistant Professor of Chemistry - Chemical Education
Tomanek Hall 347
Phone: (785) 628-4505
Fax: (785) 628-4088
akzeto@fhsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Dean Stramel
Picture of Dean Stramel

Adjunct
Tomanek Hall 349
Phone: (785) 628-5970
Fax: (785) 628-4088
dastramel@fhsu.edu

Retired Faculty

James R. Hohman, PhD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Picture of James R. Hohman, PhD, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Professor of Organic Chemistry Emeritus
Tomanek Hall 349
Phone: (785) 628-4504
Fax: (785) 628-4088
jhohman@fhsu.edu

Larry M. Nicholson, PhD, Kansas State University
Picture of Larry M. Nicholson, PhD, Kansas State University

Professor of Chemistry Emeritus

~In loving memory~

1941-2017

Max L. Rumpel, PhD, University of Kansas
Picture of Max L. Rumpel, PhD, University of Kansas

Professor of Chemistry Emeritus

~In loving memory~

1936-2017

Delbert A. Marshall, PhD, Kansas State University
Picture of Delbert A. Marshall, PhD, Kansas State University

Professor of Chemistry Emeritus

~In loving memory~

1937-2009

Edmund Shearer, PhD
Picture of Edmund Shearer, PhD

Professor of Chemistry Emeritus

~In loving memory~

1942-2002

Back to top