How to Reach Us

Department of History
Fort Hays State University
600 Park Street
Rarick Hall 344
Phone: 785-628-4248
Contact Us

History Department on Facebook Informatics on YouTube

History Scholarships

The Department of History at Fort Hays State University grants several scholarships and awards to undergraduates and graduate students. The amount and number of scholarships is dependent upon the income generated each year by the endowment of the scholarships. For more information about university scholarships and the application process, visit the Financial Assistance Office's Scholarship Web site.

Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship
Recipient must be going into junior or senior year or graduate student and be a member of Phi Alpha Theta.  Individual must demonstrate a commitment to study of history and to Phi Alpha Theta.

Anna Knoll Scholarship
Recipient must be a History major with an interest in ethnic studies, who is a native of Kansas, with a preference given to students from western Kansas. Undergraduates and graduates are eligible.

Corwin and Mabel Smith Fund
Awarded to a junior History major who has maintained a 3.5 GPA, exhibited academic excellence, and demonstrated a commitment to the study of History for his/her senior year.

David Miller History
Preference for students majoring in History with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Eugene R. Craine Memorial
Awarded to a sophomore, junior, or senior History major with at least a 3.0 overall GPA. Applicant must include a one-page essay linking his or her career goals with interest in the study of history.

Veva Stimits Memorial History
Recipient must be an upper division or graduate FHSU student majoring in History with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Campbell Family
Must be juniors, seniors or graduate students majoring in History with a 3.0 GPA or higher.

Frank Pechanec Memorial History
Awarded to a junior or senior History major with a 3.0 GPA.

Charles H. and Nita M. Landrum Memorial
Scholarships are for junior and senior students majoring in History and Political Science. In even years, the scholarship will be presented to a History major; in odd years, the scholarship will be presented to a Political Science major. Students must have a 3.0 GPA or higher and show strong leadership ability.

History Academic Opportunity Award
These awards are for incoming freshmen only.

History Department Awards
The Department of History offers several scholarships in varying amounts annually to History majors based on scholarly performance. Transfer students are encouraged to apply for these awards. Undergraduate and graduate students are eligible.

Linda Michaelis Davis
Preference to students majoring in History with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Financial need shall be considered.

Maxine A. Sebelius
Recipients must be students of Norton county majoring in Political Science or History.

Dr. Brian A. Hodson Memorial Scholarship
Recipient is open to graduate or undergraduate students with minimum GPA of 2.5, must show an affinity for research.

Gary Younger Memorial Scholarship
Recipient must be full-time history major with a preference for Kansas resident.  Student must maintain a GPA of 2.5 or greater.

Layton and Jerry Kaiser Scholarship
Recipient must be a history major with good academic standing.


Research Awards
Each calendar year, the Department of History offers $100 awards for the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Paper and the Outstanding Graduate Research Paper. Department faculty members nominate student papers at the end of each semester, and the Paper Awards' Committee makes its final determination the following spring. Winners are recognized at the College of Arts and Sciences' spring recognition program.

Back to top