TECA students receive awards at national conference

04/03/12 jgm

HAYS, Kan. -- Students from the Technology Education Collegiate Association at Fort Hays State University received the 2012 National ITEEA/TECA Manufacturing Team Championship Award at the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association Conference and Competitions in Long Beach, Calif.

FHSU was among 16 participating colleges and universities from across the United States. The students competed in six of the seven contests and placed in five.

"The contests are a friendly way for students to network and gain an understanding of technology programs from all parts of the country," said Kim Stewart, associate professor of technology studies and the club's faculty advisor. "This conference gives them a chance to see the latest in curriculum development and new tools used in technology education."

FHSU also received a third-place plaque in the Teaching Lesson competition and fourth-place honors in the Transportation, Problem Solving and Communication competitions. FHSU also competed in Technology Challenge competition but did not place.

Two additional awards were given to FHSU. Zach Pixler, Pratt senior, received the TECA student Award of Distinction and Stewart was presented with the TECA Distinguished Faculty Advisor Award.

"Mr. Stewart's passion for teaching shines through in every thing that he does," said Trevor Clark, Hays senior and TECA President, in a speech given at the conference. "He gives future teachers a role model to look up to. Between teaching six full classes, being a student advisor, and running a local business with his wife, he still finds time to devote time to the TECA students who are preparing for competition and encourages his students to give back to the community."

"In the technology education national arena, FHSU has a great reputation and has once again brought recognition and respect to the Department of Technology Studies and the university," said Stewart. "This conference and activities related to it helps our students become better technology teachers."

Students who competed are listed by hometown, classification and competition team.

Amarillo, Texas: Brittney Shea, senior, Communication.

Brookville: Kate Armstrong, junior, Manufacturing, Communication and Technology Challenge.

Ellinwood: Chantz Clawson, freshman, Problem Solving.

Fowler: Adam Sobba, senior, Manufacturing, Teaching Lesson and Technology Challenge.

Garden Plain: Cody Fisher, senior, Manufacturing and Transportation.

Hays: Trevor Clark, senior, Manufacturing, Transportation and Technology Challenge.

McLouth: Scott Smelser, senior, Manufacturing and Transportation.

Pratt: Zach Pixler, senior, Manufacturing, Teaching Lesson and Technology Challenge.

Rush Center: Jacob Keener, sophomore, Problem Solving

Back to top