Second cohort of provost's service-learning fellows named

05/18/12 ci

HAYS, Kan. -- Fort Hays State University's Provost's Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program has named the second generation of service-learning fellows. They will begin work on July 1, 2012.

The application process requires interested faculty to submit a description of their service-learning project, a statement of why they are motivated to participate in service learning, and what he or she expects to gain from their involvement in the program.

Training is split into two phases. The first phase, professional development, requires fellows to participate in an orientation and development workshop, develop a service-learning course and serve as a member of the Service-Learning Committee.

The second phase, academic leadership, requires presentations on the purpose and practice of service learning to internal and external audiences in addition to teaching at least one course that includes a service-learning component. Fellows will also be asked to meet a number of expectations and responsibilities contained in the program's charter document.

The individuals selected to serve as service-learning fellows are:

Dr. Lorie Cook-Benjamin, assistant professor of teacher education in the College of Education and Technology.
Dr. Joyce Ellis, assistant professor of health and human performance in the College of Health and Life Sciences.
Javier Leung, instructional designer for the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies.
Dr. Kim Perez, chair of the Department of History in the College of Arts and Sciences.
Dr. Chapman Rackaway, associate professor of political science in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Cook-Benjamin's service-learning project will create a virtual clinical-based practice for FHSU students to work with students at the Volcanes Primary School in Mexico.

FHSU students in Ellis' service-learning project will provide one hour of structured physical activity to Washington Elementary School students each Friday.

Leung will develop tools and templates for faculty members to implement service-learning components in virtual classes.

Local history will be the focus of Perez's service-learning project. Her students will research a local history topic and present their findings to the community through various methods.

Rackaway will challenge both on-campus and virtual students to revitalize the "Students of Hays America" organization to raise awareness and gain support for a common purpose using social media tools.

Instituted by FHSU Provost Dr. Larry Gould and the university's Service-Learning Committee, the faculty fellows program is designed to increase the number of service-learning courses and contribute to the integrity and value of service learning as a part of tenure, promotion, sabbatical, merit, and decision-making processes.

The program is supported in cooperation with resources provided by George Welch and the Welch Charitable Fund. Welch is a successful entrepreneur in real-estate development, transportation, manufacturing, finance, and banking.

For more information on the Service Learning Committee or the service learning fellows, contact Dr. Stacey Smith, committee chair, at

-- end --

Back to top