Student Government Association announces election results

05/10/12 ema

HAYS, Kan. -- Kyle Calvin, Ness City junior, was elected president and Alex Hendee, Roeland Park junior, was elected vice president of the Student Government Association at Fort Hays State University for the 2012-2013 academic year.

FHSU's SGA represents the interests of students to the administrators of FHSU, the Kansas Legislature and the Kansas Board of Regents. SGA is comprised of three independent branches: the Student Senate, the Student/Faculty Court and the executive staff.

The senate has four regular standing committees focusing on various matters in support of student issues, including the Appropriations Committee, Legislative and Political Action Committee, Senate Affairs Committee, and the Student Affairs Committee.

The following students were elected to serve as senators for their specific departments.

The College of Arts and Sciences:

Vernon King Jr., Duncanville, Texas, junior.

Kelly Nuckolls, El Dorado senior.

Victoria Lewis, Derby freshman.

Tyler Clark, St. John junior.

Tre' Giles, Colorado Springs, Colo., freshman.

Drew Lindsey, Goddard freshman.

Holly Weiss, Anthony senior.

Josh Doak, Rush, Colo., junior.

Ashley Anderson, Kansas City, Kan., sophomore.

Ruth Ebersole, Wichita junior.

Wesley Toews, Ithaca, Mich., senior.

Jennifer Verhagen, Holland, Mich., senior.

Angela Wary, Colwich sophomore.

Julianne Essmiller, Hutchinson senior.

Ashley Fitzsimmons, Cunningham freshman.

The College of Business and Leadership:

Trisha Goetz, Grainfield senior.

Ryan Baalmann, Colby senior.

Arin Powers, Woodward, Okla., freshman.

Tyson Broyles, Douglass junior.

Reed Tevault, Bonner Springs junior.

Nicholas Mann, San Diego, Calif., freshman.

The College of Education and Technology:

Jessica Tormey, Derby senior.

Jennifer Helfrich, Spearville junior.

Denise Blasi, Colwich sophomore.

The College of Health and Life Sciences:

Gentry Heimerman, Halstead sophomore.

Rachel Wary, Colwich sophomore.

Isaac Broeckelman, Selden sophomore.

Griffin Bortzfield, Pleasanton senior.

Anthony Rohr, Colby senior.

Amanda Steinle, Lucas sophomore.

Preston Hollenbeck, Colwich sophomore.

Bryant Davis, Hoisington sophomore.

Adam Rusk, Thornton, Colo., senior.

General Studies:

Quentin Aker, Wichita freshman.

Dallas Hyder, Olathe freshman.

For more information on the SGA, contact Andrew Dempewolf, SGA legislative affairs director, at 785-628-5311 or email

Back to top