Zimmerman, Solko-Olliff recognized with President's Distinguished Service Awards: 53 other employees awarded pins for total of 1,015 years of service; fall outstanding faculty also recognized

12/07/12 local

HAYS, Kan. -- Viv Zimmerman and Carol Solko-Olliff were announced today as the 2012 winners of the President's Distinguished Service Awards at Fort Hays State University. The announcement was made at the university's 25th annual Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony, held in the Memorial Union.

The President's Distinguished Service Award was begun in 2007 to recognize one classified and one non-teaching, unclassified staff member. The award is given for excellence, dedication and commitment to FHSU over a sustained period. Each receives $500.

Before everyone on campus had a computer, said Dr. Edward H. Hammond, FHSU president, Zimmerman "was the go-to person for mainframe computing services." She is a tech support consultant II in the Computing and Telecommunications Center.

"As technology evolved, so did she," said Hammond. "Viv earned a bachelor's degree and continues to educate herself on new technologies. She has provided training for nearly everyone on campus and now she handles software purchases for the university. Viv has a quiet confidence that has won the trust of everyone she encounters, and she is truly a lifelong learner at FHSU."

Solko-Olliff, he said, has worked in various capacities during her 22 years at FHSU, "touching the lives of thousands of students."

"In addition to her duties in student affairs, she has helped organize events and has sponsored student organizations. She is also a leader in the local community," said Hammond. "Carol has an amazing work ethic, which makes her a powerful advocate for students. Through personal relationships, she is able to create environments our students need to reach their potential and maximize their opportunities."

The fall winners of faculty awards for scholarship, teaching and service were also recognized at today's celebration. Their awards were previously announced when the winners received surprise visits in their classrooms.

Dr. Kyle Stone, assistant professor of management and marketing, is the winner of the outstanding researcher award; Dr. Steve Sedbrook, associate professor of health and human performance, is the winner of the outstanding teaching award; and Dr. Rita Hauck, professor of technology studies, is the winner of the outstanding faculty service award.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors who are nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the respective college deans. Three winners will also be selected during the spring semester. Each award winner receives a $500 check and is eligible for the Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year Award, announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year receives a $1,000 award. Commerce Bank contributes to the monetary award.

Another highlight of the annual Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony is the recognition of service. This year, 53 people were recognized for a total of 1,015 years of service to state and university. Of those, 41 people were awarded pins for service of 10, 20 and 30 years of service and one person was recognized for 40 years of service. Debra Prideaux, executive director for alumni and governmental relations, presented pins to 11 people who have served for 25 years.

The 40-year service pin went to Judy Getty, director of student fiscal services.

The awards:

30-year employees

Judith Angela Barger,periodicals, Forsyth Library.

Bradley Dawson,assistant professor of music and theatre.

Helen Joy Fischer,assistant director, Senior Companion and Foster Grandparent programs.

Eva Gould, media services specialist, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies.

LuAnn Pfeifer, degree analyst, Registrar's Office.

Cary Stremel, Printing Services.

Duane Weigel, supervisor of the Motor Pool.

25-year employees

Donna Augustine,agricultural technician, Grounds Maintenance.

Luella Augustine,custodial specialist, Custodial Services.

Keith Bieker, custodial supervisor senior, Gross/Cunningham Hall operations.

Bev Gross, assistant director, Office of Budget and Planning.

Dr. Edward Hammond,president.

John Kaba, systems software analyst, Computing and Telecommunications Center.

Linda Kepka, senior administrative assistant, Department of Economics, Finance and Accounting.

Kathleen Radke,accounting specialist, Student Fiscal Services.

Natalie Unruh, instructor of teacher education.

Mitch Weber, digital imaging specialist, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technologies.

Dr. John Zody, professor of health and human performance.

20-year employees

Deborah Allen, custodial specialist, Custodial Services.

Micki Armstrong,advisor at Student Engagement and Advising Center.

Judith Caprez, associate professor of social work.

Dana Cunningham,director of facilities planning.

Dr. Loretta Dorn, associate professor of chemistry.

Stephanie Eckroat,dairy division, University Farm.

Carolyn Insley,associate professor of nursing.

Lisa Karlin, assistant to the president and equal opportunity employment officer.

Linda Leiker, senior administrative assistant, Department of English.

Shannon Lindsey,director of human resources and payroll.

Jacqueline Maxwell,admissions, Web and schedule officer, Registrar's Office.

Debra Prideaux,executive director of alumni and government relations.

Mary Ridgway, creative director, University Relations.

Dr. Pelgy Vaz, professor of sociology.

Harland Werth, crop and shop division, University Farm.

10-year employees

Beatrice Bauer,exhibit technician, Sternberg Museum of Natural History.

Kristal Boxberger,accounts payable, Business Office.

Martha Bray, instructor of teacher education.

Robyn Brungardt,office manager, Financial Assistance Office.

Clifford Denny,field operations lieutenant, University Police.

Curtis Hammeke,director of athletics.

Thea Haugen, Discovery Room manager, Sternberg Museum of Natural History.

Dr. Linda Hyatt,associate professor of advanced education programs.

Dr. Barry "Jeff" Jordan, associate professor of music and theatre.

Faye Klein, document imaging and general office assistant, Registrar's Office.

Michael Martin,instructor of management and marketing.

Karen McCullough,assistant director of international student services, Student Affairs.

Dr. Edwin Olmstead Jr., assistant professor of chemistry.

Lesley Ostrom,administrative assistant, graduate nursing program.

Leslie Paige, coordinator, Office of Scholarship and Sponsored Projects.

Dr. Eugene Rice,chair of the Department of Philosophy.

Jon Tholstrup, instructor of informatics.

Michelle Weigel,office manager, Department of Informatics.

Tamatha Winters,Registrar's Office.

Back to top