Third FHSU presidential candidate to be introduced on Tuesday


The third of five candidates selected as presidential finalists for Fort Hays State University will visit Hays and meet with campus and community groups on Tuesday and Wednesday, April 1-2.

The third finalist, Dr. Gregory C. Mosier, currently serves as dean of the College of Business at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Since 2007, Dr. Mosier has held leadership and administrative responsibilities, creating new programs to partner with industry, initiate collaborative curriculum development, establish new international study programs, and oversee initiatives focused on student success and entrepreneurship. Prior to his current appointment, he served as Regents Service Professor and the Puterbaugh Professor of Legal Studies in Business (2006-2007), interim dean of the Spears School of Business (2004-2006), and associate dean (1992-1997) all at Oklahoma State University, Stillwater. From 1997-2004 he worked for National Technological University (NTU), Minneapolis, Minn., as a member of the Academic Executive Committee and coordinated a consortium of universities to deliver M.B.A. courses through distance education to corporate partners of NTU.

Claiming Claremore, Okla., and Hoxie as hometowns, Dr. Mosier received his Doctor of Education from Oklahoma State University, a J.D. from the University of Kansas, and a Bachelor of Science from Oklahoma State. In 2012, he served as president of the Western Association of Collegiate Schools of Business. In 2013, he received the International Engagement Award from the University of Nevada; in 2006 he was recognized by the Oklahoma State University Business Student Council for College Leadership; and in 2003 was named Professor of the Year by the Oklahoma State University MBA Student Association.

The community is invited and encouraged to meet the candidate for a reception at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 1, in Eagle Communications Hall at the Robbins Center (One Tiger Place) on the FHSU campus.

FHSU President Edward H. Hammond announced his retirement, effective June 30, 2014, in the fall after serving the university since 1987. Shortly thereafter, the Kansas Board of Regents initiated the search process by selecting Denis Miller, Phillipsburg, chair of the FHSU Foundation Board of Trustees, to chair the Presidential Search Committee. In December, the Regents selected the members of the search committee, comprising 19 individuals representing FHSU constituencies, such as faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni, the Hays community and the Board of Regents.

"We are pleased with the number of outstanding candidates that have applied for the presidency at Fort Hays State University," said Miller, "and we look forward to continuing the process that will lead to selection of a new president."

The dates for the other two presidential finalists' visits are as follows: April 7-8 and April 10-11. Details will be forthcoming.

For more information about the FHSU Presidential Search process, visit:

The Search Committee will submit to the Board of Regents its candidate recommendations at the conclusion of the campus interviews. The Board anticipates naming the next Fort Hays State University president in late April.

Back to top