2014 Leo Burnett Scholarship winners announced

Eleven graphic design students from Fort Hays State University have won scholarships and three received honorable mentions from the Leo Burnett Company of Chicago.

Kerri Soukup, an executive vice president and senior creative director, who is also an FHSU alum, and Timmy Parker, a junior art director who is finishing his degree from FHSU, came to campus from Leo Burnett in Chicago to do portfolio reviews and award the FHSU graphic design program $10,000. Of that money, $5,250 was awarded in scholarships and the other $4,750 went into an art supply fund.

Senior scholarship awards of $500 each went to Long Do, Wichita, Tyler Kruger, Hutchinson, and Gabriela Saravia-Lopez, Lima, Peru.

The first-place junior scholarship, $1,000, went to Mary McDermott, Edmond, Okla. Second-place, $750, went to Kayla Bartlett, Chapman, and third-place, $500, went to Dylan Lang, Hays.

Leo B Awards for an outstanding project, $300 each, were awarded to Susan Dreiling, Hays special student, Elias Ramos-Solis, Garden City junior, Janessa Larmer, Lawrence sophomore, Brittany Bange, Colby junior, and Andrew Horn, Mankato senior.

Colin Baker, Tescott senior, Lane Martin, Hays sophomore, and Ashley Wiles, Beloit senior, earned honorable mentions.

Leo Burnett in Chicago is considering a few FHSU students for summer internships as well as a junior art director position, although no decisions have been made yet.

Back to top