A new FHSU award for undergraduate research dedicated to memory of Dr. John Heinrichs

Last year, nearly nine hundred students were involved in the Undergraduate Research Experience at Fort Hays State University, working with faculty mentors to collaborate on a scholarly project with the goal of developing peer-reviewed work.

An award to recognize excellence and dedication in faculty mentors has been established and named in honor of a faculty member who was widely known and honored for his dedication to students and their research, Dr. John Heinrichs, who died suddenly in January.

For roughly one year, a committee composed of 14 members with one student representative and representatives from the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science, representing all four colleges at FHSU, worked on the proposal to create an award to honor the commitment, time and energy necessary to foster undergraduate research. The result was the Heinrichs Research Mentor Award.

Heinrichs, professor and chair of the Department of Geosciences, died as the committee was putting together the finishing touches of the proposal.

"It seemed only natural to name the award after him," said Leslie Paige, coordinator for the Office of Scholarship and Sponsored Projects. Heinrichs was heavily involved in mentoring students.

"This award speaks to the quality of the faculty," says Paige. This award will highlight the high-quality and high-impact teaching that goes on around campus.

Award winners will be presented with $500 of other operating expenses funding for their home departments at the Fall Convocation in August.

Back to top