FHSU education students selected for two scholarship programs

Twelve education students have been selected for special math and science teacher scholarships in two programs at Fort Hays State University's Science and Math Education Institute (SMEI).

The two programs are the Noyce Teacher Leader Program and the Noyce Summer Scholars Program. Some of the students who earned these scholarships are from various other areas.

The Noyce Teacher-Leaders program is a competitive scholarship program for students who have obtained at least a junior-level status. The intent is to train outstanding science or mathematics teachers for high-needs school districts.

Individuals selected for one of the six $12,000 scholarships, which is renewable for a second year, will receive specialized coursework such as teaching distance-learning technologies, leadership and professional development on issues facing high-needs school districts. These students will also travel to conferences and receive support for the first three years of their transition from students to teachers.

Noyce Teacher-Leader Scholars are listed by hometown with their classifications and majors. All are FHSU students except where otherwise noted. Hometown ZIP codes are included for the convenience of those papers that use them to guide placement.

CIMARRON (67835): Will Pingsterhaus, an FHSU sophomore, mathematics
GREAT BEND (67530): Luke Abbott, an FHSU junior, mathematics.
GRINNELL (67738): Alysia Schwarz, an FHSU junior, biology.
HAYS (67601): Lakin Werth, an FHSU sophomore, mathematics.
HUTCHINSON (67501): Sydney Lower, an FHSU junior, mathematics.
UDALL (67146): Nicole Maurer, an FHSU sophomore, mathematics.

The Noyce Summer Scholar Program provides a $2,400 stipend to work in the FHSU SMEI summer programs. The program is open to FHSU students, community college students and students considering transferring to FHSU to enter the teaching profession. They must have completed at least the freshman year.

Noyce Summer Scholars are listed with hometown, school, classification and major.
ALEXANDER (67513): Katie Showalter, an FHSU sophomore, physics.
GOODLAND (67735): Carly McCracken, an FHSU sophomore, wildlife biology.
LA CROSSE (67548): Kristy Tweed, an FHSU junior, chemistry education.
LIBERAL (67901): Leslie Prieto Munoz, a Seward County Community College transfer student, petroleum engineering.
NATOMA (67651): Bailey Pfortmiller, an FHSU junior, secondary education.
SPRING HILL (66083): Nicole Vandaele, an FHSU sophomore, chemistry and secondary education.

Back to top