Gleichsner, Stephenson win national award at the annual NACTA conference


Dr. Jean Gleichsner and Dr. Bob Stephenson, Fort Hays State University, received the Murray Brown North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Leadership Award at the 60th annual conference of the NACTA this summer at Montana State University, Bozeman. The award recognizes a distinguished and sustained record of NACTA leadership.

Both Gleichsner and Stephenson are lifetime members, and both joined in 1994.

Gleichsner has served as Central Region director, vice-president and president of NACTA. She has served on the Teacher Recognition Committee since 1992 and was chair from 1997 to 1999. Gleichsner has presented 12 oral and poster presentations on teaching and was named a NACTA Distinguished Educator in 2010.

Stephenson has been a member of the Teacher Recognition Committee for 19 years and served as chair for six years. He has served two decades on the NACTA Journal Award Committee and has made numerous oral and poster presentations. Stephenson received the 1994 Teacher Fellow Award and the 1997 Central Regional Outstanding Teacher Award.

The theme for the 2014 Annual Conference was "Learning Runs Through It."

Back to top